Notices
Engine & Drivetrain VQ Power and Delivery

rebuilding DE help with cams

Old 06-01-2018, 10:42 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default rebuilding DE help with cams

okay im doing a full rebuild of my 03 de only things staying are the heads and the block, ive got about no idea about cams other than if you want more than 11mm lift then you have to replace pistons and the valves, right now I know I want the tomei brand and I would *like* to have the most aggressive cams possible, ill have Ferrea valves and springs and ill have WiseCo pistons, with that said how which of the procams can I handle? (intake 280 11.3 exhaust 280 11.0?) my apologies if I sound like a complete noob Ive got very little knowledge of cams.
Old 06-01-2018, 12:08 PM
dnash

Received 13 Likes on 7 Posts

What are your plans for the intake side of things?
Old 06-01-2018, 08:31 PM

Originally Posted by dnash
What are your plans for the intake side of things?
ive got an AEM intake and its pulled all the way down in front of my radiator other than that ive got a skunk racing spacer
Old 06-02-2018, 10:26 AM
bealljk
350Z-holic

Received 1,282 Likes on 1,007 Posts

Originally Posted by 03350
(intake 280 11.3 exhaust 280 11.0?) my apologies if I sound like a complete noob Ive got very little knowledge of cams.
what do you plan to do with this car after all the work is done

it's ok to be a noob and ask questions but please do it in a respectful, humbling way, with no arrogance, and no attitude (NOT that you haven't already - you're good thus far) but new members come in and ask noob questions with attitudes and disrespect to long time members and they don't last long.

Once you know what you want to do with the car find someone else on the forum that has done what you are looking to do and mimic what they've done.

A few things to think about and some basic pricing:

What are you going to tune with ($1000 - $3500)?
What fuel system are you going to run ($1500 - $2000)?