Notices

Idler Pulley Removal Mod with Pics

Old 12-11-2007, 11:50 AM
  #21  
Wired 24/7
Dr. Wired
iTrader: (2)
 
Wired 24/7's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: San Mateo, CA
Posts: 17,587
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by QuadCam
It is currently taking up slack. It is not necessary to have it. Keep it if you want to, or remove it if you want to.
so it's just a tensioner? isn't it nice to have a tension adjustment on that side though?
Wired 24/7 is offline  
Old 12-11-2007, 11:56 AM
  #22  
QuadCam
Registered User
Thread Starter
iTrader: (8)
 
QuadCam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Vero Beach, Florida
Posts: 3,869
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

no, it is isn't a tensioner. The tensioner is another pulley int he system. This mod doesn't affect the tensioner AT ALL. The pulley really doesn't do anything! I was told by an early G35 owner that Inifiniti used that pulley to drive the radiator fans on the 1st G35s. Infiniti made a mid year change in 2003.5; part of that change included Infiniti switching to electric fans from that point onward.

So, now that pulley just takes up space. With that pulley in place, the belts length is 46.5" Removing the pulley/bracket necessitates the use of a 45.5" belt. Gates part number K060455.
QuadCam is offline  
Old 12-11-2007, 11:57 AM
  #23  
Wired 24/7
Dr. Wired
iTrader: (2)
 
Wired 24/7's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: San Mateo, CA
Posts: 17,587
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by QuadCam
no, it is isn't a tensioner. it really doesn't do anything! I was told by an early G35 owner that Inifiniti used that pulley to drive the radiator fans on the 1st G35s. Infiniti made a mid year change in 2003.5; part of that change included Infiniti switching to electric fans from that point onward.

So, now that pulley just takes up space. With that pulley in place, the belts length is 46.5" Removing the pulley/bracket necessitates the use of a 45.5" belt. Gates part number K060455.
So my guess would be they kept it in so that parts are more interchangeable such as the pulleys and belts, which reduces cost for dealers (less inventory), warehouses, manufacturer, etc

also makes it easier for techs to work on the car so they don't get confused looking at what appears to be 2 different engine configs at first glance...
Wired 24/7 is offline  
Old 12-11-2007, 12:03 PM
  #24  
QuadCam
Registered User
Thread Starter
iTrader: (8)
 
QuadCam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Vero Beach, Florida
Posts: 3,869
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Here's a pic of where the tensioner pulley is:

Name:  tensionerpulley.jpg
Views: 2061
Size:  28.9 KB



...and this is how it would look when you are done. as you can see, this doesnt affect the tensioner pulley.

Name:  PulleyTensioners.jpg
Views: 2394
Size:  33.1 KB
QuadCam is offline  
Old 12-11-2007, 12:07 PM
  #25  
Cux350z
hatersgonnahate
iTrader: (162)
 
Cux350z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 11,660
Received 250 Likes on 187 Posts
Default

wired........leave quadcam alone.....he needs to find the part number for the spacer. Go search the forum or sumthin!! LOL

Quadcam, lmk when you find the part. Ill definitely get in on this! 3lbs off is nice!
Cux350z is offline  
Old 12-11-2007, 12:07 PM
  #26  
Wired 24/7
Dr. Wired
iTrader: (2)
 
Wired 24/7's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: San Mateo, CA
Posts: 17,587
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

yeah I have the service manual somewhere on my computer but I was too lazy to find exactly where this info was located in it

carry on :P
Wired 24/7 is offline  
Old 12-11-2007, 12:10 PM
  #27  
QuadCam
Registered User
Thread Starter
iTrader: (8)
 
QuadCam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Vero Beach, Florida
Posts: 3,869
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

I'm not sure what models now have the spacer......I was going to use the Infiniti spacer, but I was impatient and went ahead with the project. I was changing my oil on Sunday, and I decided to do this too.

The tech at Infiniti called me today to let me know that he has the spacer for me.
QuadCam is offline  
Old 12-11-2007, 12:20 PM
  #28  
Cux350z
hatersgonnahate
iTrader: (162)
 
Cux350z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 11,660
Received 250 Likes on 187 Posts
Default

let me know how much if you dont want it.
Cux350z is offline  
Old 12-11-2007, 12:43 PM
  #29  
Ztalker
Registered User
 
Ztalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 7,971
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

nice mod when the time comes for belt replacement. I used to think that idler pulley drives a water pump. Guess i was wrong.

Questions is.......would the same gates belt #K060455 work with UR underdrive crank pulley installed?
Ztalker is offline  
Old 12-11-2007, 12:55 PM
  #30  
QuadCam
Registered User
Thread Starter
iTrader: (8)
 
QuadCam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Vero Beach, Florida
Posts: 3,869
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Ztalker
nice mod when the time comes for belt replacement. I used to think that idler pulley drives a water pump. Guess i was wrong.

Questions is.......would the same gates belt #K060455 work with UR underdrive crank pulley installed?

I don't know. Take a look at the UR underdive belt. The last 3 numbers are usually the length of the belt........e.g. this one says 455...as in 45.5" long.

the stock belt is a 465..............46.5" long.
QuadCam is offline  
Old 12-11-2007, 01:19 PM
  #31  
Ztalker
Registered User
 
Ztalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 7,971
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

i got underdrive pulley installed already, just wondering if the same size belt would work after the idler pulley is moved.
So, i can order the spacer for the power steering bracket from any infinity dealer.
Ztalker is offline  
Old 12-12-2007, 05:46 PM
  #32  
QuadCam
Registered User
Thread Starter
iTrader: (8)
 
QuadCam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Vero Beach, Florida
Posts: 3,869
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Updated with close up pics of the pulley/bracket and where to cut the bracket. also, added a pic of the part number for the drive belt.
QuadCam is offline  
Old 12-13-2007, 07:08 AM
  #33  
gothchick
Registered User
iTrader: (12)
 
gothchick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: ATL
Posts: 3,301
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Yeah, i'll be doing this too when it's time to change belts. Thanks for the tip on how to shed 3 more lbs off an already heavy Z! :-)
gothchick is offline  
Old 12-13-2007, 09:05 AM
  #34  
Escobar
Registered User
iTrader: (26)
 
Escobar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: 㧆 Cç
Posts: 3,144
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by QuadCam
gets rid of useless crud on the car! Like I said previously, it is a good mod to do when it comes time to change your belts.

Plus, if you have a nice lookign powder coated timing cover waiting to go on your engine, this'll just makes everything look better......

damn, that looks really good.
Escobar is offline  
Old 12-13-2007, 10:39 AM
  #35  
Quamen
Registered User
iTrader: (14)
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 3,383
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

I'm doing this for my supercharger kit to allow more room for my radiator on my v-mount.

I always thought that the idler was there because if you take it out the belt going from the PS pump to the crank pulley would be very close to the top of the belt on the tensioner pulley when tensioned.
Quamen is offline  
Old 12-13-2007, 11:22 AM
  #36  
QuadCam
Registered User
Thread Starter
iTrader: (8)
 
QuadCam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Vero Beach, Florida
Posts: 3,869
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

no, there is plenty of room between the belt and the tension adjusting pulley. I wouldn't even consider them remotely close to eachother.
QuadCam is offline  
Old 12-14-2007, 05:19 PM
  #37  
Quamen
Registered User
iTrader: (14)
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 3,383
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

I just picked up my belt today. I just have to get some longer bolts for my tensioner bracket since everything on my car is 14mm further out.
Quamen is offline  
Old 12-16-2007, 07:29 PM
  #38  
Quamen
Registered User
iTrader: (14)
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 3,383
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Belt number the belt you specified didn't work for my setup so I am going to pick up something longer this week. However, this could be due to the slight repositioning of my alternator compared to stock which requires slightly longer belt length.
Quamen is offline  
Old 12-16-2007, 09:15 PM
  #39  
QuadCam
Registered User
Thread Starter
iTrader: (8)
 
QuadCam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Vero Beach, Florida
Posts: 3,869
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Quamen
Belt number the belt you specified didn't work for my setup so I am going to pick up something longer this week. However, this could be due to the slight repositioning of my alternator compared to stock which requires slightly longer belt length.

it must be. try the stock belt and see if that works for your custom setup. the stock belt is only 1" longer.
QuadCam is offline  
Old 12-17-2007, 05:46 AM
  #40  
Quamen
Registered User
iTrader: (14)
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 3,383
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Originally Posted by QuadCam
it must be. try the stock belt and see if that works for your custom setup. the stock belt is only 1" longer.

Lol. I didn't even take the time to try the stock belt before I bought the other. Either way it is a NAPA belt and I can easily return it so no loss to me really.

Thanks
Quamen is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Idler Pulley Removal Mod with Pics


Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: