Notices

DIY Replacing your belts. Very Easy

Old 02-03-2009, 10:04 AM
  #61  
AcidJake75
Living in 350Z
iTrader: (64)
 
AcidJake75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: DFW, TX
Posts: 4,887
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by chromesilverz View Post
So...when did you guys change your belts...what mileage?

Any signs to look for to know when to change them.
If you see cracks, they need to be replaced..
AcidJake75 is offline  
Old 03-08-2009, 09:02 PM
  #62  
Valles8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Wichita/Garden City KS
Posts: 1
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

awesome write up. helped alot thanks.
Valles8 is offline  
Old 03-09-2009, 06:07 AM
  #63  
Steve_03
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
Steve_03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 78
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Worked like a charm...very easy!

Has anybody used the gatorback belts from autozone? How do you tell if they need replaced? I imagine it would be tough to see cracks in them.
Steve_03 is offline  
Old 03-11-2009, 03:56 PM
  #64  
dchi_t
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
dchi_t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: so cal (mpk) - tokyo - taiwan
Posts: 672
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

question about the adjust bolt. since its a bolt that your turn to adjust the tension, couldnt one just use like "white out" or something on the threads to mark the original location of the bolt and return it to "approximately" the same location when retensioning the belts?
dchi_t is offline  
Old 03-11-2009, 06:46 PM
  #65  
El Guy
Registered User
iTrader: (4)
 
El Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, CA
Posts: 973
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I did this this past weekend, Very easy took 30 minutes. Felt good doing it my self. I have a questions 3 days later my belts made a noise at start up just for a minute, Should i just tighter or looser?
El Guy is offline  
Old 03-11-2009, 07:27 PM
  #66  
3hree5ive0ero
`.,,.*`.,,.*~[;::;]ᵒᴥᵒ)
iTrader: (95)
 
3hree5ive0ero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Dallas / Chicago
Posts: 1,337,017,830
Received 75 Likes on 48 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Steve_03 View Post
Worked like a charm...very easy!

Has anybody used the gatorback belts from autozone? How do you tell if they need replaced? I imagine it would be tough to see cracks in them.
Have you tried looking at your belts? It's not hard to see cracks, when they're there. You can definitely see wear on them, so when you see signs of cracking, you should probably replace the belt.

Originally Posted by dchi_t View Post
question about the adjust bolt. since its a bolt that your turn to adjust the tension, couldnt one just use like "white out" or something on the threads to mark the original location of the bolt and return it to "approximately" the same location when retensioning the belts?
You can, in theory. However, in real life applications, things aren't always mathematical. The belts aren't always the same exact length, nor do they provide the same amount of tension. It's best to follow the guidelines for optimum results.

Originally Posted by El Guy View Post
I did this this past weekend, Very easy took 30 minutes. Felt good doing it my self. I have a questions 3 days later my belts made a noise at start up just for a minute, Should i just tighter or looser?
You should tighten it a tad bit and slightly more for good measure.
3hree5ive0ero is offline  
Old 03-17-2009, 06:14 PM
  #67  
El Guy
Registered User
iTrader: (4)
 
El Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, CA
Posts: 973
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

had to tighten, Worked like a charm, Thanks 3hree5iveOero
El Guy is offline  
Old 03-19-2009, 02:06 AM
  #68  
airsoftluver
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Los Angeles, Ca, USA
Posts: 30
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

so after changing the Oil,filter and spark plugs i preceded to move on to the belts. problem now is that i kinda rounded off the bolt that holds the tensioner in place(not the one that brings it up and down the one that locks it place).

What should i do? should i try to take it out with vice grips then get a replacement bolt?
airsoftluver is offline  
Old 03-19-2009, 02:58 PM
  #69  
dchi_t
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
dchi_t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: so cal (mpk) - tokyo - taiwan
Posts: 672
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

i almost did the exact thing this passed weekend. i hope the dealer sells a replacement bolt for that and not require to buy the entire tensioner assembly =/ i think the bolt is made out of brass thats why it was so easy to round.

if the bolt is complete rounded and a socket no longer holds on, yes use a vice grip and buy a replacement bolt.
dchi_t is offline  
Old 03-27-2009, 11:45 AM
  #70  
Brrcats
Registered User
iTrader: (10)
 
Brrcats's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Westerville, OH
Posts: 2,375
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Goodness, just did this this past week. Took me a while because instead of going to the dealer to get replacement belts (dealer is farther than I wanted to drive), I went to autozone and got the goodyear gatorback belts. The belts were fine, but the problem is that they dont have the correct sizes in the computer for the Z, so after I get them and try to install them they are way too big, so even after bringing in the old belts it still took another trip to get the correct size.

biggest hassle ever.

the actual replacing the belts was super easy though. hardest part was removing the plastic undertray, so to take advantage of the opportunity I changed the oil/filter and cleaning my air filter while I was down there
Brrcats is offline  
Old 03-27-2009, 12:13 PM
  #71  
SlipZ
Registered User
iTrader: (10)
 
SlipZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: West Coast
Posts: 609
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

i will be doing this project in two weeks..
SlipZ is offline  
Old 03-28-2009, 01:39 PM
  #72  
burnt.z33
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 20
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by airsoftluver View Post
so after changing the Oil,filter and spark plugs i preceded to move on to the belts. problem now is that i kinda rounded off the bolt that holds the tensioner in place(not the one that brings it up and down the one that locks it place).

What should i do? should i try to take it out with vice grips then get a replacement bolt?
it does happen maybe 5 out of 10 350z i see but just use vice grips and the dealer should have replacement bolt in stock.
burnt.z33 is offline  
Old 03-30-2009, 07:23 AM
  #73  
BallZdeepNYC
Registered User
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NYC
Posts: 979
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

i will be doing this soon. i just wish there was an easier way to make sure belts were perfectly tightened but i will attempt it next weekend or the weekend after
BallZdeepNYC is offline  
Old 03-31-2009, 08:01 PM
  #74  
nassin_z053
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: NorCAL
Posts: 39
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

very nice ... will def. look into this
nassin_z053 is offline  
Old 04-06-2009, 05:49 AM
  #75  
10 TIL 4
Registered User
iTrader: (38)
 
10 TIL 4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hampton VA
Posts: 1,349
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Has anyone completed this on an HR motor? I noticed a strange sound from under the hood over the weekend and noticed the belt(s) was frayed. After calling my local Nissan Parts Dept, they said the HR only has one belt and they had it in stock so I'm swinging by at lunch to pick one up. Then hopefully knocking it out when I get home this evening.
10 TIL 4 is offline  
Old 04-14-2009, 07:39 AM
  #76  
chromesilverz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: z land
Posts: 173
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

A handheld fish scale and ruler might work if you have one laying around for the tension/deflection.
chromesilverz is offline  
Old 04-15-2009, 12:55 PM
  #77  
drewk
Registered User
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: waukegan
Posts: 449
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I got some DAYCO belts... are they any good?
drewk is offline  
Old 04-16-2009, 08:57 AM
  #78  
chromesilverz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: z land
Posts: 173
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Which hoses did you replace? You have the part numbers? Is there a DIY?

Thanks.




Originally Posted by 350ZTheStandard View Post
Part numbers for the belts from NiSSan:

11920-AG900 Belt Compressor list price $18.82
11720-4P102 Belt Fan & Alternator list price $21.86

I purposely overtightened the belts knowing they would stretch just a wee bit as the Z runs.

I did my hoses at the same time, when you have the undercover off you have plenty of access, my original antifreeze was 3.5 years old when replaced

chromesilverz is offline  
Old 04-18-2009, 03:47 PM
  #79  
chromesilverz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: z land
Posts: 173
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by drewk View Post
I got some DAYCO belts... are they any good?
Might as well get Nissan belts because they are so cheap anyways.

I got mine from Worldpartsexpress.com. One was $13.87 and the other was $15.47. They have flat rate shipping of $7.50 plus $2 handling so I went ahead and got some other parts.



Did mine today with the oil change. A piece of cake. I had more trouble getting the oil filter off...lol. Used the old thumb-o-meter. Tested the belts before hand and tried to get it a little tighter for good measure...lol. My car is 7 years old. Both belts were cracked pretty good and the smaller of the two belts looked like it was about to break.

To the one that said something about marking the adjuster bolt...doesn't look like it's possible because the visible parts (from underneath) of the bolt does not move.

Might want to add that the adjuster bolts are 12mm. The alternator adjuster bolt was hard to get to and the socket didn't sit in there very well because of the angle so I used a 12mm wrench so I didn't strip it like some here said might happen.

Thanks for the DIY. Awesome.

Last edited by chromesilverz; 04-18-2009 at 06:46 PM.
chromesilverz is offline  
Old 04-18-2009, 04:08 PM
  #80  
AcidJake75
Living in 350Z
iTrader: (64)
 
AcidJake75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: DFW, TX
Posts: 4,887
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

just did my belts...it was nothing...SUPER easy to be exact..from a scale of 1-10...this was a 3.. awesome write up..
AcidJake75 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: DIY Replacing your belts. Very Easy


Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: