Notices

DIY - PPE longtube installation

Search this Thread

Old 01-14-2013, 01:22 PM
cyc5181

Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts
Default DIY - PPE longtube installation

Just wanted to let people who are on the fence about doing this by themselves know what kinda time frame they need to have and some things that I did on the install that aren't documented anywhere else.

And I can't believe we only have exactly ONE diy post on header installation in the forum!!

Basically, I followed the zchickz website, it has all the steps listed. so I won't repeat what was already stated. this post is more for a time estimation and just what I encountered.

I am by no means a mechanic, but I've done some work on the car myself, and so I'm no newb to ratchets and wrenches. If you're fairly new, I don't think this is a diy for you.

All work are done at a leisurely pace, not in a rush mode. So you may be able to get things done faster than me.

Tools I used so far are just regular wrenches, ratchets, sockets. you WANT to have those ratchet wrenches, preferably the thin ones, if not, you will need LOTS OF PATIENCE. oh and LOTS of extensions, both short and long ones. I also used a swivel.

The listed items are what I did on that day. They're not neccessarily in sync with the zchickz website steps.

So here we go:

Day 1 (roughly 3hrs by myself): remove intake, stb, cats, y-pipe, removed O2 sensor from manifolds.
note: when removing the cats, you'll need to reposition yourself to get access to the last bolt/nuts. a creeper would be nice, but not necessary. Might also want to rent the O2 sensor socket set from Autozone from day 1, cuz you gonna need it later on if not now. I left the o2 sensors in the cats here, cuz I didn't have the socket set. I was able to remove the front O2 sensors with just a wrench, think it's a 22mm.

Day 2 (1hr) - drained coolant

Day 3 (6-7hrs with a friend): removed coolant hardpipes, exhaust manifolds