Notices

will any year vq35de fit wire harness?

Old 04-24-2018, 04:32 AM
  #1  
Eric Pipp
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default will any year vq35de fit wire harness?

I recently bought an 03 350z 6mt for dirt cheap and it has lifter ticking noises. I think I want to just swap out the engine I have with a lower mile vq35de to make it easy, this way I won't have to worry about the wiring harness, my question is, if I buy any other year's model engine such as an 05 vq35de will all the connections work properly? I would assume the rev-up engines would be different, but I have found no information on the wiring side of this topic.

I searched the forum for this answer and couldn't find anything (I may have used bad keywords for this, if so I apologize!)
Eric Pipp is offline  
Old 05-02-2018, 05:00 AM
  #2  
Bernardo Z33
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 101
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

From what I know and you may also know this is that anything that has to do with an HR is out of the water. Nothing will work from an HR. So now were left with a revup vs non revup. If its an 05 then I think only the 25th anniversary 6MT had the revup. From what I've seen and read you can swap a revup into a nonrevup. Wiring harness wise I think you can run the nonrevup wiring harness with a revup engine but you have to do some wiring and if you don't it'll run like a normal nonrevup. Don't quote me on this But I think I red about that somewhere. In all honesty to make it easy for you i'd suggest just getting the nonrevup harness just to save you headaches. I believe if you don't plug in the additional cam sensors your revup will run like a normal DE with the DE ECU and harness.

Here is a link in case I am completely wrong. To make it easier try searching next time. There are hundreds of posts talking about this

https://my350z.com/forum/engine-and-...lete-swap.html
Bernardo Z33 is offline  
Old 05-02-2018, 05:04 AM
  #3  
Bernardo Z33
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 101
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Hope this helped.

Last edited by Bernardo Z33; 05-02-2018 at 05:06 AM.
Bernardo Z33 is offline  
Old 05-02-2018, 05:46 AM
  #4  
vegasanthony
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
vegasanthony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: las vegas
Posts: 157
Received 14 Likes on 14 Posts
Default

03-04 is the same engine harness..no wide band 02 sensors..
05 non anniversary is the only year the harness is specifically for a non revup with wideband capabilities precat
2006-07 is a revup with wideband precat and extra cam sensors
The 05 and
The rev up engine harness has different pinouts from the harness
To the ECU..


in your case since you have an 03 ECU the 05 engine harness would not work well it would be sending signals to the wrong pins on the ECU from the pre cat O2 sensors..
..
So you can buy the 05 not revving up but you have to use the 03 harness

Last edited by vegasanthony; 05-02-2018 at 06:02 AM.
vegasanthony is offline  
Old 05-02-2018, 10:40 AM
  #5  
vegasanthony
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
vegasanthony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: las vegas
Posts: 157
Received 14 Likes on 14 Posts
Default

The 05 harness has these 6 prong connectors for 02sensors/ airfuel sensors
vegasanthony is offline  
Old 05-04-2018, 02:02 AM
  #6  
Eric Pipp
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Very helpful information guys, thank you! Essentially if I just stick with an 03 or 04 that will be the most simple for swapping (just unplug everything on the old, plug back in everything on the new). Do you have any knowledge on if the G35 engines will swap as easily?
Eric Pipp is offline  
Old 12-14-2018, 08:29 PM
  #7  
Adam_ant442
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: FL
Posts: 5
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 03-04 harness the same??

(Each car is a 6 speed)So I have an 03 car that doesn't have an engine in it I recently bought about a month ago I just got A 04 car 2 weeks agoThat runs and drivesSo the differences I have found between the 03 and 04 harness in the 04 car it has vdC button In my 03 car does not but has A TCS Button in place of It I have Read that if left disconnected it just deletes it Which is straight because this is going to be a drift car My question is Should I run the 04 eCU with the 04 harness and 04 engine in my 03 car will it plugged in all the same to the dash harness??? Another difference I have found is the 03 car has a different "ABS block" (silver thing that all brake hardlines connect 2) Then the 04 car and has different wires and connectors that come from the ABS block in my 04 car then my 03 car I was thinking to just swap the ABS block from 04 car to of 3 car to eliminate any problems do you think this will work

Last edited by Adam_ant442; 12-14-2018 at 08:30 PM.
Adam_ant442 is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
emabroza
Engine
26
04-03-2016 04:32 PM
rainycityZ
Interior
6
09-09-2013 06:19 AM
Livingthedream7
Audio & Video
0
07-15-2006 10:10 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: will any year vq35de fit wire harness?


Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: