Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Hood repaint vs Seibon CF

Search this Thread

Old 06-17-2010, 01:43 PM
midna

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Hood repaint vs Seibon CF

Disclaimer: I'm a noob and I'm trying to learn.

I'm trying to weight the pros and cons of a new cf hood vs a hood repaint (chrome silver 2005 base).

Due to some great stupidity on my part, I burned through the paint on my hood . Anyways, no use crying over spilled milk so I was set on getting it repainted. However, I started looking at cf hoods and I really like the look of the seibon cf vt and ts hoods. Hood repaint will cost $470 after blending into fenders (and some fender repainting too) vs the $6-700 for the cf hood.

My question is, if I care for the cf like I car for the rest of my car (wash, pre-polish bonding, polish, wax) will it still start to yellow and oxidize? The Z is my daily driver so it's out in the elements rain or shine (garage at night).

I did some searching and found that some people clear coat the hood themselves? I'm terrible at painting, and now I'm very scared of sanding/buffing paint heavily at all so that's not really a good option.

Any other considerations with a cf hood? I've never dealt with cf before so I'm trying to learn. One of my friends said it is a bad idea since cf will crack and is very weak.

If the maintenance is going to be too high I don't really wan to deal with it since oem still looks good with the aerosync n-style I'll be ordering tomorrow.
Old 06-17-2010, 01:46 PM
Hexxus

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

It depends on the brand if it will yellow and oxidize. Some do it faster than others. Some don't fit worth a damn, some fit like OEM.
Old 06-17-2010, 01:47 PM
TheFarmer

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Repaint OEM.
Old 06-17-2010, 02:20 PM
midna

Thanks for the fast replies!

Originally Posted by Hexxus
It depends on the brand if it will yellow and oxidize. Some do it faster than others. Some don't fit worth a damn, some fit like OEM.