Notices
Forced Induction Turbochargers and Superchargers..Got Boost?

Another Powerlab install

Search this Thread

Old 07-14-2011, 07:30 PM
woody03

Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts
Default Another Powerlab install

Well, to start off, the install was finished about 8 hours ago. The whole install took almost a month, and was more difficult than I had originally thought it to be. This isnt the first turbo kit I have installed. I'm no master mechanic, but I have done my far share of bolt-ons. I had quite a few problems. The first problem I ran into was getting the plenum apart. I had installed a spacer about 2 years ago, and getting some of the bolts(the two on the outside that are star-shaped) was a PITA. I actually drilled the passenger side bolt in half to get it apart. The first up-pipe took some time to install due to me not being able to find out where to put it( I had instructions and pictures of installs from this forum). The next problem was oil fill line fitting that bolted into the turbo did not bolt to the fill line....at all. I spent two days in SoCal looking for a shop that was able to help me out. After that, I thought the oil pan was never going to come off. I had to pry it apart with a scraper and a screwdriver. After the turbo went on, it was smooth sailing until we attempted to bolt the midpipe to the downpipe. I successfully broke two vbands at that point. On to the fuel pump. Swapping the pump was quite easy...finding it however took forever. There is only one thread that I could find in multiple forums that even mentions that it is behind the passenger seat. After getting that out, which was easy, I swapped the pumps, drilled the regulator and yellow piece on the bottom of the basket, forgetting to swap the grey boot that creates the seal. After getting all of the little things done, i.e. gauges, UTEC, PCV line, wastegate line, and boost line I attempted to start the car. I then spent a day troubleshooting to find out the grey boot that I could no lo