Installing fuel pump and regulator - MY350Z.COM - Nissan 350Z and 370Z Forum Discussion



Forced Induction Turbochargers and Superchargers..Got Boost?

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-23-2004, 11:22 AM   #1  
ACP
Registered User
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
ACP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Naples, FL
Posts: 405
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Installing fuel pump and regulator

I am installing the Walbro 255 high volume fuel pump and Aeromotive A1000-6 Regulator, and tried searching to see if anyone posted instructions or tips on installing the in tank fuel pump, but didn't find anyting
So I am posting

Looks like you have to drop the fuel tank correct ?
Was told you must replace the seal ring, when replacing the pump, true ?
Any advice will be appricated
ACP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2004, 11:37 AM   #2  
[email protected]
Sponsor
Forged Performance
iTrader: (92)
 
Sharif@Forged's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 13,733
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I think Spaz was going to go do a step-by-step shortly. I dont think anyone has posted a write-up yet.

I do know that you don't have to drop the fuel tank. All the work is done from undereath that top service entrance to the tank behind the passenger side seat. Do you have the service manual? It gives you a pretty decent picture of what's back there. The regulator will actually sit on top of the fuel pump assembly. The in/out houses are straightforward, and then you create a simple return line with earls fittings and elbows. Spaz cut a small hole in the top of the plastic assembly and use that to return fuel.

ACP, this is a great example of how a picture can paint a thousand words...its almost impossible to describe in words.

Hopefully, Spaz can post the pics and step-by-step.
Sharif@Forged is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2004, 11:41 AM   #3  
ACP
Registered User
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
ACP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Naples, FL
Posts: 405
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thanks gg, I pm spaz the other day, but no reply yet
I have my car apart, so I thought I would post

I have removed the bottom tray in the glove box, and see the top of the tank, but I don't see the fuel pump...
ACP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2004, 11:47 AM   #4  
[email protected]
Sponsor
Forged Performance
iTrader: (92)
 
Sharif@Forged's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 13,733
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Ok, there are four screws on that panel. Remove the screws and you'll gain access to the fuel pump assembly and you'll be able to disconnect the hose clips and harnesses. Be careful when you remove the fuel clip. Get a towel ready to catch the fuel that will spill out. You are suposed to release the fuel system pressure, but I dont know where to do that...and Spaz did the job without releaseing the pressure...its just a bit messier...and keep a big towel handy.

ACP, if you need some help...just give me a buzz.....I'll PM you me cell phone number.
Sharif@Forged is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2004, 11:49 AM   #5  
[email protected]
Sponsor
Forged Performance
iTrader: (92)
 
Sharif@Forged's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 13,733
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ACP, mailbox is full. Just call me...626-485-2100.
Sharif@Forged is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2004, 11:56 AM   #6  
ACP
Registered User
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
ACP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Naples, FL
Posts: 405
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Here is what it looks like from the top



and speaking of my car being apart, I snapped a couple more pictures of it now


ACP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2004, 01:24 PM   #7  
[email protected]
Sponsor
Forged Performance
iTrader: (92)
 
Sharif@Forged's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 13,733
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

remove those screws and lift up the assembly. Dont be shy. Unclip those harnesses too.....get the towel ready to catch the fuel. Looking good!
Sharif@Forged is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2004, 01:39 PM   #8  
ACP
Registered User
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
ACP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Naples, FL
Posts: 405
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ok, I will do that tomorrow

been working in it enough already today

Took the steering wheel apart so that I could remove the aluminum trim peice on the left, to install my GReddy overtake boost switch

And pulled my wiring harness out so it is easier to solder in the ignition harness
ACP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2004, 03:55 PM   #9  
[email protected]
Sponsor
Forged Performance
iTrader: (92)
 
Sharif@Forged's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 13,733
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

cool...you got the diodes for the ignition harness.right?
Sharif@Forged is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2004, 04:07 PM   #10  
ACP
Registered User
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
ACP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Naples, FL
Posts: 405
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

yes
ACP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2004, 04:54 PM   #11  
350Now
Registered User
 
350Now's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: So Cal
Posts: 1,368
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Keep us updated Tim. I haven't seen the a write-up for the install yet.
350Now is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2004, 05:02 PM   #12  
[email protected]
Sponsor
Forged Performance
iTrader: (92)
 
Sharif@Forged's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 13,733
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hey ACP, is it just me...or using an overbooast capability a bit risky. Since you are just momentarily increasing boost...but not fuel...dont you run the risk of running lean?

I suppose there could be other ways to use it...such as drag racing...where you want a lower start boost, and can then hit the bottom to hit your pre-programmed peak level. For instance.....low boost is at 6psi, and they high boost could be 8psi, but the car was tuned for 8psi...so you dont risk running lean.

Is this how you intend on using it?
Sharif@Forged is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2004, 08:11 AM   #13  
ACP
Registered User
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
ACP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Naples, FL
Posts: 405
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

took some pictures while I did my install this morning





Here is a picture showing the clip you have to remove.


The Walbro 255 pump is slightly longer then the stock one, so you just have to modify the bottom clip like I show in the pictures



And here is why I was told that you need to replace the seal ring, when repacing the pump
See how it expands after removal, and it doesn't fit in the groove now.
ACP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2004, 10:30 AM   #14  
[email protected]
Sponsor
Forged Performance
iTrader: (92)
 
Sharif@Forged's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 13,733
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

very nice pics! Thanks! Hey...your tank is pretty full of gas......looks like you just topped it off.

Cant wait to see the pics of your FPR install.

Damn..I need to go buy one of that rings.
Sharif@Forged is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2004, 04:24 PM   #15  
ACP
Registered User
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
ACP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Naples, FL
Posts: 405
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by gq_626

Cant wait to see the pics of your FPR install.
Well here is some pics of what I did today, to get set up for the FPR install

I am removing the stock dampeners
Here is a picture of it



And install my Aeromotive A1000-6 Regulator here




I am going to have some fuel rail adapters made up, figure out what fittings and hoses I need, where I will mount my fuel pressure sensor, and go from there...

Last edited by ACP; 05-24-2004 at 04:26 PM.
ACP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2004, 06:36 PM   #16  
[email protected]
Sponsor
Forged Performance
iTrader: (92)
 
Sharif@Forged's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 13,733
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

why are there so many stock FPR's??
Sharif@Forged is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2004, 07:11 PM   #17  
[email protected]
Sponsor
Forged Performance
iTrader: (92)
 
Sharif@Forged's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 13,733
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I was thinking.....ACP....would it be possible to just tap the fuel line before it reaches those FPR's inside the engine, and then run a return line back to the tank? I like your idea....its better to bypass those stock FPR's, but I'm thinking in terms of simplicity. What do you think?
Sharif@Forged is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2004, 10:50 PM   #18  
ACP
Registered User
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
ACP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Naples, FL
Posts: 405
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by gq_626
I was thinking.....ACP....would it be possible to just tap the fuel line before it reaches those FPR's inside the engine, and then run a return line back to the tank? I like your idea....its better to bypass those stock FPR's, but I'm thinking in terms of simplicity. What do you think?
That is why I am installing the FPR there, to do just that.

And I guess those stock ones are called dampeners...
ACP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2004, 11:03 PM   #19  
ACP
Registered User
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
ACP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Naples, FL
Posts: 405
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

oh wait, were you asking to do this, And keep the stock dampeners ?
ACP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2004, 11:22 PM   #20  
[email protected]
Sponsor
Forged Performance
iTrader: (92)
 
Sharif@Forged's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 13,733
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

yes...keep the dampeners...and tap the line a bit further upstream....so as to avoid modding the rail.
Sharif@Forged is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Oil change with aftermarket oil cooler XM 1 Engine & Drivetrain 22 06-12-2018 07:53 PM
JMS Racing Twin Turbo VQ35HR MM'08_350Z VQ35HR 224 08-10-2017 12:55 PM


Tags
2004, 350z, 6264852100, a1000, aeromotive, fpr, fuel, inside, install, nissan, pics, pictures, pump, regulator, sender

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:42 AM.


Copyright 2002 - 2017, MY350Z.COM All Rights Reserved.
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: