Intake Exhaust Moving all that air in and out efficiently

Loss of power???

Search this Thread

Old 06-21-2006, 04:00 PM
3hree5ive0ero
Retired Admin

Received 78 Likes on 50 Posts
Unhappy Loss of power???

Hi guys, I have a few questions if you don't mind. I'm a noob when it comes to exhausts and many of the members here seem more knowledgeable than asking some mechanics around.

I have a Top Speed Pro-1 Exhaust. Everything is stock down to the mid-pipe, so stock headers, cats, & y-pipe. So everything down to there is 2.5 inches or less. The mid-pipe that connects to the y-pipe is 3 inches and that branches off into two, still 3 inches, into the mufflers (cans), which are 4 inch at the tip. The silencers fit into the cans and blocks off most of the hole leaves a hole of 2 inches in diameter.

When I shift into 1st and 2nd, the car feels to be slow and it just doesn't feel like it wants to accelerate. The car also responds very slowly when I tape the throttle. It seems to accelerate slower in all gears, especially in the lower RPMs.

So, given the exhaust with the above description, do you think I've lost power? When I take the silencer out, it's loud as hell and it feels like my car isn't as fast. When the silencers are in, they kinda sorta feel a bit faster than when the silencers out. Would you guys mind explaining what exactly is going on?

Thanks,
Chris

P.S. I tried searching but I couldn't find anything and after a while the search feature died on me and keeps giving me page errors.
Old 06-21-2006, 04:38 PM
davidv

Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts

Loss of power where?

Any exhaust mod will alter the torque and horsepower curves. In other words you might drop 5 pounds of torque at 3,000rpm and pickup 5 pounds at redline. Add headers and the curves change. Add high flow catalytic converters or test pipes and the result will be different.
Old 06-21-2006, 04:42 PM
3hree5ive0ero
Retired Admin

Originally Posted by davidv
Loss of power where?