How-To Repair Stuck / Broken Window Motor ... - Page 6 - MY350Z.COM - Nissan 350Z and 370Z Forum Discussion

Go Back  MY350Z.COM - Nissan 350Z and 370Z Forum Discussion > 350Z Tech Area > Maintenance & Repair
Reload this Page >

How-To Repair Stuck / Broken Window Motor ...

Notices
Maintenance & Repair 350Z up keep and diagnosing/fixing problems

How-To Repair Stuck / Broken Window Motor ...

Old 08-19-2008, 07:25 AM
  #101  
VO...
Administrator
Thread Starter
iTrader: (25)
 
VO...'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Down Under & Dirty
Posts: 58,629
Thanked 2,732 Times in 1,830 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Brrcats
damn. how much was a new motor at autozone, like a little over $100 right?

I mean if its like this


I'll be laughing all the way to autozone.
Check my 1st post of this thread again. I posted links for both driver's side and passenger's side motors for 2 different stores. I picked up the one from Advanced Auto Parts this week.

Last night I finished up the job by tapping 4 new holes and replacing the 4 OEM stripped bolts. Another botched up job the Nissan techs did to my car awhile back. Sorry ba$tids.

Don't rag on meh Keystone Light either...
Attached Thumbnails How-To Repair Stuck / Broken Window Motor ...-imgp3760.jpg   How-To Repair Stuck / Broken Window Motor ...-imgp3761.jpg   How-To Repair Stuck / Broken Window Motor ...-imgp3762.jpg   How-To Repair Stuck / Broken Window Motor ...-imgp3766.jpg   How-To Repair Stuck / Broken Window Motor ...-imgp3767.jpg  

VO... is offline  
Old 08-19-2008, 08:56 AM
  #102  
Brrcats
Registered User
iTrader: (10)
 
Brrcats's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Westerville, OH
Posts: 2,375
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

^^word, the store you posted has them for cheap, but I've never heard of that store. Autozone has them for like 170 + 40 buck core charge, so thats almost as high as what nissan wants.
Brrcats is offline  
Old 08-19-2008, 12:07 PM
  #103  
topsecrettnt
Registered User
 
topsecrettnt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Trinidad and Tobago
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

im in the caribbean, so i have to order a new RIGHT side assenbly from Nissan directly in MIAMI, does anybody have a part number please?
topsecrettnt is offline  
Old 08-19-2008, 03:08 PM
  #104  
mcarther101
Registered User
iTrader: (8)
 
mcarther101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Pensacola, FL
Posts: 1,493
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Great DIY, thanks for the post. It was an easy fix and the only thing I needed to buy was that electrical spray stuff which was only a couple bucks at autozone.

PS driver side is easier, less screws for the panelling.
mcarther101 is offline  
Old 08-19-2008, 05:58 PM
  #105  
markcel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I bought a driver's side motor for my G35 coupe at Autozone. It was $133.99 + 40.00 core charge + sales tax..

Also, I was able to correct my screwup I posted about earlier by resetting the window motor..

Last edited by markcel; 08-19-2008 at 06:17 PM.
markcel is offline  
Old 08-20-2008, 01:39 PM
  #106  
StrauZZ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Cleveland,Ohio
Posts: 158
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I got my new replacement motor from autozone. I opened up the motor and it already needs cleaning. What do they actually rebuild on these things? It alreay looks bad. The last autozone replacement did not last too long maybe its better to buy a new one from Nissan?
StrauZZ is offline  
Old 08-25-2008, 10:25 AM
  #107  
VO...
Administrator
Thread Starter
iTrader: (25)
 
VO...'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Down Under & Dirty
Posts: 58,629
Thanked 2,732 Times in 1,830 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by StrauZZ
I got my new replacement motor from autozone. I opened up the motor and it already needs cleaning. What do they actually rebuild on these things? It alreay looks bad. The last autozone replacement did not last too long maybe its better to buy a new one from Nissan?
Yup, they just rebuild them. I opened mine replacement also. It was clean, but looked like $hit on the inside. It looks like they just replace the carbon brushes. From the look of it though, the brushes don't even look new. They do have less wear n' tear than my OEM brushes do though. This is probably why they fail after a year or so....
VO... is offline  
Old 08-25-2008, 10:58 AM
  #108  
marques1
Registered User
iTrader: (5)
 
marques1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: austin, texas
Posts: 5,158
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 1 Post
Default

great write-up!!!
marques1 is offline  
Old 08-25-2008, 12:25 PM
  #109  
VO...
Administrator
Thread Starter
iTrader: (25)
 
VO...'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Down Under & Dirty
Posts: 58,629
Thanked 2,732 Times in 1,830 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by marques1
great write-up!!!
VO... is offline  
Old 08-29-2008, 07:08 AM
  #110  
350ztampa2003
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Tampa
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

My drivers side window will not roll back all the way up when completely down. After a while it manages to get back up and if you press it once to go up it reaches the top then shoots back down halfway. Are these similar problems you encountered?
350ztampa2003 is offline  
Old 08-29-2008, 07:19 AM
  #111  
Brrcats
Registered User
iTrader: (10)
 
Brrcats's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Westerville, OH
Posts: 2,375
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by 350ztampa2003
My drivers side window will not roll back all the way up when completely down. After a while it manages to get back up and if you press it once to go up it reaches the top then shoots back down halfway. Are these similar problems you encountered?
You'll need to perform the window regulator reset procedure outlined at the end of VO's DIY.

This happened to me last night after the install of my new motor
Brrcats is offline  
Old 08-29-2008, 07:23 AM
  #112  
Brrcats
Registered User
iTrader: (10)
 
Brrcats's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Westerville, OH
Posts: 2,375
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

So last night I installed the new motor and it worked beautifully, however I didnt use the tape to hold the window up since last time I did that it left one hell of a adhesive residue on the glass that was a pain to get off.

This time I had a friend hold the window while I unscrewed the three bolts that held the window to the window track. It was very easy, took maybe two minutes to undo the bolts and remove the window. Plus theres enough space that you really dont have to worry too much about scratching your tint if you have it (I do).

Using this method I didnt have to remove the window track from the metal panel at all and removed the whole mechanism as one. I prefer this method since when I did VO's method for the cleaning, it was a little difficult to get the bottom window track bolts back into the holes on the metal panel.

So take it for what you will. just an alternative method.
Brrcats is offline  
Old 09-01-2008, 10:12 AM
  #113  
shanson
Registered User
 
shanson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: chicago
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default question...closer...

great write up...

I tried this but still nothing happened.

There were 2 things I saw that I had questions on.

1st....it says don't wind or be careful how you put the windings back in the motor. If I put it back wrong will that cause it not to work? Does it have to be in the exact position (not rotated 1 degree) to continue to work?

2nd. on the 2 brushes that have springs on them. on mine, only one of them was springing...the other one was stuck in. Is that a sign the motor is just shot?

I did order a new motor so I am waiting for that to come in. Hopefully that is it. great diy though, at least now I am an expert on taking the door panel off.
shanson is offline  
Old 09-02-2008, 07:54 AM
  #114  
VO...
Administrator
Thread Starter
iTrader: (25)
 
VO...'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Down Under & Dirty
Posts: 58,629
Thanked 2,732 Times in 1,830 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by shanson
great write up...
Thank you.

Originally Posted by shanson
1st....it says don't wind or be careful how you put the windings back in the motor. If I put it back wrong will that cause it not to work? Does it have to be in the exact position (not rotated 1 degree) to continue to work?
When I took my motor off the 2nd time around, I noticed you can turn the motor all you want once it's removed from the cable mechanism. I say this because my new motor was not aligned properly, so I had to pull the motor housing off and spin the internal motor to get it to align so I could slip it on the mechanism that controls the cables. So to answer your question, I don't think it's a big deal if you move the motor or cable portion a bit. I don't believe it'll effect anything. If it doesn't work properly, all you have to do is the reset procedure and it'll recalibrate everything for you.

Originally Posted by shanson
2nd. on the 2 brushes that have springs on them. on mine, only one of them was springing...the other one was stuck in. Is that a sign the motor is just shot?
The spring that's stuck inside is the reason your motor no longer works. The carbon portion is either worn all the way down, giving the appearance it's stuck or the spring is not working properly causing the carbon pieces to not stick out. You did the right thing by ordering a new motor in this case...
VO... is offline  
Old 09-02-2008, 08:06 AM
  #115  
ReV74
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
ReV74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lawndale
Posts: 452
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Vo Very Good DIY
ReV74 is offline  
Old 09-02-2008, 10:10 AM
  #116  
VO...
Administrator
Thread Starter
iTrader: (25)
 
VO...'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Down Under & Dirty
Posts: 58,629
Thanked 2,732 Times in 1,830 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by ReV74
Vo Very Good DIY
VO... is offline  
Old 09-02-2008, 11:27 AM
  #117  
ZKansasZ
Registered User
iTrader: (10)
 
ZKansasZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Houston
Posts: 1,648
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I would like to say THANK YOU to VO for this great write up !!!
I have followed each step you showed, my man !

But my window still does not work, I think it's busted !!! I remember when putting the cap back to cover the spinning part, the magnetic seemed to stuck together, but I ignored it...lol...would that be a problem?
So I guess I have to order a new one then.

Some how after things put back together. Now I keep hearing some rattle from the door. Have not re-opened it back but can anyone guess what that is?
ZKansasZ is offline  
Old 09-02-2008, 02:19 PM
  #118  
dmaygs
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: gulf shores, alabama
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default windows

Great post I know it will help when it comes time to take that door apart. You sure did save a lot of headaches.
dmaygs is offline  
Old 09-02-2008, 02:29 PM
  #119  
projektZ
Registered User
iTrader: (18)
 
projektZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 460
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I don't want to take all the time to clean mine then have it break again so I'd rather get a new one but if the ones from AutoZone are only going to last a yr or so then whats the point? Is there anywhere to get one that won't break?? TIA
projektZ is offline  
Old 09-02-2008, 05:25 PM
  #120  
VO...
Administrator
Thread Starter
iTrader: (25)
 
VO...'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Down Under & Dirty
Posts: 58,629
Thanked 2,732 Times in 1,830 Posts
Default

Thanks for the compliment guy.

As far as the magnetic cover goes. It does get attracted to the motor's inner spinning piece, but will not pull it out if the spinning part is seated properly. Futhermore, the magnetic cover will not mate properly if the spinning pieces is not not seated correctly.

As far as the rattling noise you're hearing, I can't say that I know what the problem is.

A new motor should solve your problems. I'm starting to see that this is the best method to take now...
Originally Posted by ZKansasZ
I would like to say THANK YOU to VO for this great write up !!!
I have followed each step you showed, my man !

But my window still does not work, I think it's busted !!! I remember when putting the cap back to cover the spinning part, the magnetic seemed to stuck together, but I ignored it...lol...would that be a problem?
So I guess I have to order a new one then.

Some how after things put back together. Now I keep hearing some rattle from the door. Have not re-opened it back but can anyone guess what that is?
VO... is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: How-To Repair Stuck / Broken Window Motor ...


Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: