Maintenance & Repair 350Z up keep and diagnosing/fixing problems

Clicking sound

Search this Thread

Old 11-06-2003, 02:17 AM
Bew11

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy Clicking sound

Everyone,
I'm not very good with cars, so this will probably be a stupid question but i would appreciate any help that can be given. I'm hearing a clicking noise from the front and rear. When the steering wheel is left of center the front stops but the rear sound is still there. When the steering wheel is straight or right of center the front and rear clicking is there. This sound exists at 1mph-30mph, I haven't had the car over that since I just noticed it this morning. Thanks for any help.
Old 11-11-2003, 06:54 PM
Eric1h

is it a metal tick tick tick noise, when you start from a stop or slow roll?

i had that issue and it was a loose rear axle nut(the pulled the rear axle, greased and replaced, and its fixed), a bunch of guys on here have had the same problem.
Old 11-12-2003, 02:58 PM
CottonWoodz

Originally posted by Eric1h

i had that issue and it was a loose rear axle nut(the pulled the rear axle, greased and replaced, and its fixed), a bunch of guys on here have had the same problem.
Same here. But when I took it in to get it looked at, it wouldnt make the damn noise. Then when I got it back from service, 30 mins of driveing it started to click
Old 11-13-2003, 04:42 AM
Eric1h

Mine was fixed and hasnt come back in months! So far so good!
Old 11-13-2003, 09:09 AM
droideka

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

How loud is this "click"? I hear something from the rear suspension when first rolling forward or back, but it's a subtle as the sound of loading a magazine into a pistol. Is it that quiet?
Old 11-13-2003, 09:36 AM
Eric1h

Originally posted by droideka
How loud is this "click"? I hear something from the rear suspension when first rolling forward or back, but it's a subtle as the sound of loading a magazine into a pistol. Is it that quiet?