Maintenance & Repair 350Z up keep and diagnosing/fixing problems

Problems with my brake lights

Search this Thread

Old 09-13-2011, 10:51 PM
350Zamir

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Angry Problems with my brake lights

Hey guys,
so last night i got pulled over and apparently my brake lights arn't working? I told the officer it works and demonstrated it a few times. It sometimes works n sometimes doesn't? I told him i would get it fixed right away so he let me off the hook Could this be the brake switch thats on top of the brake pedal?
Old 09-14-2011, 07:12 AM
The_Marne

You would have to check the whole harness all the way back to see where it's intermittent. Everywhere there is a break will have to be checked. I'm an electrician on Aircraft and this is the worst problem to troubleshoot because it works sometimes and it doesn't other times. If you want to do it yourself, you will definitely need a multimeter to read at all the breaks (connections) on the way back to the actual light.

Short answer: Could be anything, faulty switch, chafed wire, corrosion, faulty fuse. Good luck bro.
Old 09-14-2011, 10:41 PM
350Zamir

Originally Posted by The_Marne
You would have to check the whole harness all the way back to see where it's intermittent. Everywhere there is a break will have to be checked. I'm an electrician on Aircraft and this is the worst problem to troubleshoot because it works sometimes and it doesn't other times. If you want to do it yourself, you will definitely need a multimeter to read at all the breaks (connections) on the way back to the actual light.

Short answer: Could be anything, faulty switch, chafed wire, corrosion, faulty fuse. Good luck bro.
Oh man! I thought it would be an easy fix. I was messing around with the wire harness that connects to the brake switch and everytime I touch those, it usually makes the light turn on more often. But I think I migh just take it into a dealer and get it checked out. Thanks for the response bro!