Notices
Maintenance & Repair 350Z up keep and diagnosing/fixing problems

Wobbly driver's seat (Broken seat & Floor)

Search this Thread

Old 04-19-2012, 04:50 PM
Z1NONLY

Received 95 Likes on 61 Posts
Default Wobbly driver's seat (Broken seat & Floor)

Sorry for the small novel, but maybe someone else can benefit from my headache.

A few years ago during ZdayZ, I remember my my seat going "flat" under braking. The forward-most **** was adjusted to bring the seat up under my knees but collapsed back to flat under braking. (Hope that explanation makes sense)

I managed to get everything aligned and re-adjusted, but I think that was the first sign of what would become a rather big issue. It seemed to sneak up on me slowly, but I have been autocrossing my Z for ~7 years and the driver's seat has gotten progressively "wobbly" over time.

I have always sat kind of frog-legged and used my knees to keep me in place under hard cornering, but that job seemed to get more difficult with time as well. (So much so that my knee went into the door while on course last year. IIRC)

I was able to get a replacement used, and went on thinking the wobble was just normal "wear and tear".

I got curious last year and investigated the issue only to learn that I had broken the floor.

The floor had tabs (with integrated nuts) spot-welded under the sheet-metal in the floor and I had broken those spot-welds on the two front holes. It took a dental tool and forever to hook the tab, pull it up against the hole long enough to crazy glue it and then reinstall the seat and use the the bolts to pull it up against the bottom of the floor and secure the seat.

At the time, I thought I had found the cause of the wobble but thought the seat was secure-enough and let it be.

Fast-forward to two weeks ago when I started prepping my car for ZdayZ, and I took care of a litany of stuff.

The Z was ready...