Maintenance & Repair 350Z up keep and diagnosing/fixing problems

New to the forum.. Help!!

Search this Thread

Old 11-30-2012, 02:29 PM
nismolicious

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to the forum.. Help!!

Hey guys...

New to this forum, however have been a frequent member of zilvia and a couple others (So don't worry.. no noob **** here :P )

I am no master mechanic however have enough experience to do a basic swap (such as an sr20). I have never opened up my 350z (other than small things like a thermostat, fixing that annoying hatch issue and so on-

My Z is a 2003 touring model and completely bone stock with 75k-

I have had an issue for the past couple of months that continues to get worse and I am completely stuck!!!

Near the end of the summer I had noticed between oil changes that my oil pressure was reading low (dropped down almost to zero at idle and wouldnt get past 50 psi flooring it)

After changing the oil everything seemed to be straightened out. Then a couple weeks later same symptom happened so I added another quart of oil and things again were all good.

I have been doing this now for about 3 months and increasingly new issues have arrived-

Symptoms now
-Occasionally (twice this has happened at random) the car will sputter (like its camed) or like its a bad MAF and the check engine light will come on and flash. Car would not stall and turning the car off and on again would remedy the problem

- There is a rattling sound (not a knock) that almost sounds like flywheel chatter (could be unrelated) but I notice when I put more oil in this stops temporarily. (this can only be heard at low rpm (up till 3k)

-Occassionally (at random) the VSC, brake, and SLIP lights will come on and stay on, then go away eventually (could be unrelated)

-When I make a U-turn or a hard left turn I watch my Oil Psi drop from say 60psi down to like 15psi (even when I am giving it gas)