Notices
Maintenance & Repair 350Z up keep and diagnosing/fixing problems

Weird noise when I release the clutch

Search this Thread

Old 02-06-2013, 10:04 PM
iDrill03

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Weird noise when I release the clutch

Ok so I just got my 03 Z about 3 weeks ago. I enjoy it more than any other car I've ever had! But I've noticed a weird noise that has been occurring when I fully release the clutch. It's this weird hum and at some moments it's louder than others and sometimes it's mon existent. Like I said I'm new at this so if anyone can shed some light on this or relate to my situation and give me some advice it would be very appreciated thank you
Old 02-07-2013, 12:27 AM
Itzcashew

The Z has a notoriously loud tranny. Take a video so we can see exactly what you mean.
Old 02-07-2013, 05:40 AM
HarleyDobbs

Originally Posted by iDrill03
Ok so I just got my 03 Z about 3 weeks ago. I enjoy it more than any other car I've ever had! But I've noticed a weird noise that has been occurring when I fully release the clutch. It's this weird hum and at some moments it's louder than others and sometimes it's mon existent. Like I said I'm new at this so if anyone can shed some light on this or relate to my situation and give me some advice it would be very appreciated thank you
If it's a hum my trans has the same thing that sounds like a whistle. Not a wind sound like a window is down but a whistle. It goes away after a few miles so I never had it looked up due to its reputation for a noisy trans.

Doesn't sound like flywheel chatter for that noise is always the same when I hear it.

Good luck and vid would def help
Old 02-07-2013, 08:14 AM
SQuaLZ

Received 116 Likes on 90 Posts

Originally Posted by HarleyDobbs
If it's a hum my trans has the same thing that sounds like a whistle. Not a wind sound like a window is down but a whistle. It goes away after a few miles so I never had it looked up due to its reputation for a noisy trans.