Broken area around the oil pressure sensor! Help!!! - Page 2 - MY350Z.COM - Nissan 350Z and 370Z Forum Discussion

Go Back  MY350Z.COM - Nissan 350Z and 370Z Forum Discussion > 350Z Tech Area > Maintenance & Repair
Reload this Page >

Broken area around the oil pressure sensor! Help!!!

Notices
Maintenance & Repair 350Z up keep and diagnosing/fixing problems

Broken area around the oil pressure sensor! Help!!!

Old 04-30-2013, 03:39 PM
  #21  
JasonZ-YA
350Z-holic
iTrader: (60)
 
JasonZ-YA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: San Antonio/I miss DFW, TX
Posts: 11,207
Thanks: 0
Thanked 23 Times in 14 Posts
Default

also, if you guys take the car to a shop...again - download the FSM for them...

the upper pan has a special sequence pattern of torquing the fasteners....

gL guys..

-J
JasonZ-YA is offline  
Old 04-30-2013, 03:55 PM
  #22  
Carter86
Registered User
iTrader: (2)
 
Carter86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 82
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by JasonZ-YA View Post

YOUR DONE!!!

lol at welding - you can not weld a CASTING GUYS!!

I have first hand experience with this with a friend....hands down...replace the upper pan...


there are MANY threads on this and ive commented on them all....chaulk it up to a learning curve, always research first....did you read the Factory Service Manual??? -- and see that this sending unit takes super low low torque...ie, it broke when you put way too much force on the wrench.....
(the fsm is free download in the maintenance section forum)

there is no real way to fix that...if whatever you try fails..out goes all your oil.......

I ALWAYS ALWAYS ALWAYS tell people, if that sensor goes out, dont replace it, dont remove it, dont nothing with it...simply buy a oil filter sandwich adapter and plug a new oem unit into the sandwich port and leave the original sitting there forever...

sorry this happened..

hands down replace the upper pan!!!

-J
I should not have touched it. Its too late now lol

I dont know. I lost passion and interest to work on my car right now. Im so brain dead XP

Last edited by Carter86; 04-30-2013 at 08:32 PM.
Carter86 is offline  
Old 04-30-2013, 07:01 PM
  #23  
freddys 350z
Registered User
 
freddys 350z's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: schertz, tx
Posts: 774
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

you can tig weld cast aluminum.
freddys 350z is offline  
Old 04-30-2013, 07:23 PM
  #24  
JasonZ-YA
350Z-holic
iTrader: (60)
 
JasonZ-YA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: San Antonio/I miss DFW, TX
Posts: 11,207
Thanks: 0
Thanked 23 Times in 14 Posts
Default

No way on that crap broken pattern.....this is not two ss pipe pieces joined with a perfect seem butt.....And to do so hes gonna have to remove the pan anyway, clean it dry to the bone...oil cant be present.....a tig welder cant get n there at all....

Not to mention no shop will do it due to liability.....

Its pointless....

J
JasonZ-YA is offline  
Old 04-30-2013, 08:33 PM
  #25  
Carter86
Registered User
iTrader: (2)
 
Carter86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 82
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I just did a motor swap and no way im gonna lift the motor again to do this ****. id rather pay someone to do it for me.

Gosh I hate my life
Carter86 is offline  
Old 04-30-2013, 10:02 PM
  #26  
freddys 350z
Registered User
 
freddys 350z's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: schertz, tx
Posts: 774
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by JasonZ-YA View Post
No way on that crap broken pattern.....this is not two ss pipe pieces joined with a perfect seem butt.....And to do so hes gonna have to remove the pan anyway, clean it dry to the bone...oil cant be present.....a tig welder cant get n there at all....

Not to mention no shop will do it due to liability.....

Its pointless....

J
all i said is that you can weld cast aluminum.
freddys 350z is offline  
Old 05-01-2013, 04:03 AM
  #27  
Carter86
Registered User
iTrader: (2)
 
Carter86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 82
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Are all the upper oil pans the same? I have an extra motor from 04.5 and my car currently has06 rev up motor.
Carter86 is offline  
Old 05-01-2013, 04:04 AM
  #28  
JasonZ-YA
350Z-holic
iTrader: (60)
 
JasonZ-YA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: San Antonio/I miss DFW, TX
Posts: 11,207
Thanks: 0
Thanked 23 Times in 14 Posts
Default

^ all good.......i just wanted him to have a clear detail of whats involved. not just "it can be done"

My earlier post was aimed to be a dead in the water end the idea of welding, because of this particular situation its a BAD idea....

--say it were to be welded (and any weld job there would be a blob of weldment all over) and breaks going down the road?!?! a pan replacement is the only "RELIABLE" fix.

---as for the pan replacement---
look into making a tower engine support or getting an engine hoist to support the engine from the top leaving it IN the car.

remove the pan and K member from the bottom.

Either way, its not easy, but it isnt impossible either..

lol, ask Acidjake all about it.....
-J
JasonZ-YA is offline  
Old 05-01-2013, 04:10 AM
  #29  
JasonZ-YA
350Z-holic
iTrader: (60)
 
JasonZ-YA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: San Antonio/I miss DFW, TX
Posts: 11,207
Thanks: 0
Thanked 23 Times in 14 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Carter86 View Post
Are all the upper oil pans the same? I have an extra motor from 04.5 and my car currently has06 rev up motor.
i vaguely remember something being different about certain years....

there is a thread on it...ask acidjake75, he should know...

-j
JasonZ-YA is offline  
Old 05-01-2013, 04:49 AM
  #30  
Carter86
Registered User
iTrader: (2)
 
Carter86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 82
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks!

I sent him a PM
Carter86 is offline  
Old 05-01-2013, 04:53 AM
  #31  
JasonZ-YA
350Z-holic
iTrader: (60)
 
JasonZ-YA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: San Antonio/I miss DFW, TX
Posts: 11,207
Thanks: 0
Thanked 23 Times in 14 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by shayan89 View Post
Looks super incredibly hard. Any idea on how to drop the upper oil pan?and thanks for all the input guys.
Originally Posted by shayan89 View Post
I went to lowes and bought a 24 nm open box wrench and as I was loosing it it cracked. No idea why
If you check the FSM:


You will see that this oil pressure sending unit is installed with ONLY 11 ft-lb and installed originally at the factory with RTV.....

so, like i mentioned before, i wouldnt remove it ever!!

but, if i had too, i would heat it up like crazy first - heat gun at least! then i would use a torque wrench set to 10ft-lb and use that to remove it....to ensure i didnt apply too much pressure...

from there i would adjust and slowly turn/tap/turn/tap motion, but not all at once...

if at all, thats how you take the oem oil pressure sending unit out.

and once out, pry the threads are ok....again, i wouldnt take it out.....just simply relocate to a oil filter sandwich adapter and leave the old one in there forever...
-J
Attached Thumbnails Broken area around the oil pressure sensor! Help!!!-upper-oil-pan-fsm.jpg  
JasonZ-YA is offline  
Old 05-01-2013, 05:25 AM
  #32  
Carter86
Registered User
iTrader: (2)
 
Carter86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 82
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Jasonz-ya

I read your old thread about this item

http://www.glowshiftdirect.com/oil-f...15-thread.aspx

Can I use adapter thread (1/8 bsp to 1/8 NPT thread adapter) and screw in stock oil pressure sensor?
Carter86 is offline  
Old 05-01-2013, 06:36 AM
  #33  
JasonZ-YA
350Z-holic
iTrader: (60)
 
JasonZ-YA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: San Antonio/I miss DFW, TX
Posts: 11,207
Thanks: 0
Thanked 23 Times in 14 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Carter86 View Post
Jasonz-ya

I read your old thread about this item

http://www.glowshiftdirect.com/oil-f...15-thread.aspx

Can I use adapter thread (1/8 bsp to 1/8 NPT thread adapter) and screw in stock oil pressure sensor?
sure, like i mentioned before..i always tell people NOT to remove the oil pressure sensor and to simply buy another new one, leave the old one in the upper oil pan untouched and relocate to a sandwich adapter.....the sandwich adapter is located right there next it it, so wires reach and all....its much safer bet....

for your case, yourgonna need a new pan? so too late now for a sandwich adapter....the new pan will have the oil pressure sensor hole there and you can install a new sensor at 11 ft-lb with rtv on the threads....

why you thinking of sandwich adapter still????

-J
JasonZ-YA is offline  
Old 05-01-2013, 12:31 PM
  #34  
Carter86
Registered User
iTrader: (2)
 
Carter86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 82
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Just wanted to learn how it works

Acidjake confirmed me that all de motors use the same oil pan. I'm gonna use the one from my old motor but id have to take it to a shop for the work since I don't have the engine hoist.
Carter86 is offline  
Old 05-02-2013, 06:30 AM
  #35  
JasonZ-YA
350Z-holic
iTrader: (60)
 
JasonZ-YA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: San Antonio/I miss DFW, TX
Posts: 11,207
Thanks: 0
Thanked 23 Times in 14 Posts
Default

You can make an engine strut tower mounted holder??! quite inexpensively...the VQ doesn't weight alot..

in your garage? you cant make a steel brace and chains hanging form the rafters/ceiling above, remove hood??


Name:  engine-support.jpg
Views: 1053
Size:  26.9 KB
Name:  enginesupportbar.jpg
Views: 1095
Size:  35.0 KB
OR
Name:  DSCN2486.jpg
Views: 1042
Size:  78.6 KB


-J
Attached Thumbnails Broken area around the oil pressure sensor! Help!!!-5-2-2013-9-27-40-am.jpg  
JasonZ-YA is offline  
Old 05-02-2013, 06:56 AM
  #36  
Carter86
Registered User
iTrader: (2)
 
Carter86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 82
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Oh wow lol

Thats awesome. I'm not sure if I would try that however. Id just borrow an engine hoist from a buddy or just take it to a local shop for it. Thanks for the fsm though. Going to print it out tonight after work
Carter86 is offline  
Old 05-03-2013, 05:36 AM
  #37  
JasonZ-YA
350Z-holic
iTrader: (60)
 
JasonZ-YA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: San Antonio/I miss DFW, TX
Posts: 11,207
Thanks: 0
Thanked 23 Times in 14 Posts
Default

^ cool...g/L
JasonZ-YA is offline  
Old 05-11-2013, 07:35 AM
  #38  
Carter86
Registered User
iTrader: (2)
 
Carter86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 82
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

All fixed!!!!
Carter86 is offline  
Old 09-18-2014, 05:37 PM
  #39  
TCooke
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Decatur, AL
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Sorry to bring up this old thread, but I'm having to remove my upper oil pan. Luckily, the entire front of my car was already off due to a wreck.. not so lucky there. Anyways, we have all the bolts out, everything that is connected to the upper oil pan off. My dad and I can't seem to get the pan to separate from the block. Any ideas? My dad has torn down many motors, just not Japanese. He's a little clueless as to why it's so tightly put together.. can't even put a razor blade to separate the RTV. I would greatly appreciate any feedback, I've got all the parts just about to get my Z back on the road and that won't be possible without the bottom of my motor.

- Tyler
TCooke is offline  
Old 09-18-2014, 05:45 PM
  #40  
bealljk
Registered User
iTrader: (13)
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: North Denver
Posts: 3,860
Thanked 385 Times in 326 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by TCooke View Post
Sorry to bring up this old thread...
T-Cookie, no worries on bringing up an old thread - better than starting a new one...something is still connected if you cant get in there to cut the rtk. Did you use the factory service manual or haynes manual? If you have not, I would look into them before too long.
bealljk is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Broken area around the oil pressure sensor! Help!!!


Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: