Notices
Maintenance & Repair 350Z up keep and diagnosing/fixing problems

Anyone else get a CLUNKING from the steering rack?

Search this Thread

Old 11-05-2004, 08:31 PM
phunk
CJ Motorsports

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Anyone else get a CLUNKING from the steering rack?

If i sit in the car and turn the wheel back and fourth about 1-2" i can hear a clunk. At first I thought it sounded like a outter tie rod end. I put the car on the lift and that was not it.

Then I had someone turn the wheel while I looked for the sound... THOUGHT it sounded like it was coming from the inner tie rod joint on drivers side

So I bought a new one.

When I was in getting an alignment (havent yet installed new inner rod) I had the alignment guy see if he could find the problem and he said it was coming from my steering rack.

I build cars for a living but if there is one part on a car that I am the least familiar with... its the steering rack.

Anyone else ever have this problem? I need to find a fix or TRY and get them to warrenty it on my car. I am gonna have the engine out in a week or two so it will be easy to get at then... but I honestly have no idea what to even do with a steering rack once I take it out... other than put it back in.

-Charles
Old 11-06-2004, 06:27 AM
yngvar

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I have the same problem. I did put the car on a lift and apply pressure to the wheels and the clunk was coming from the steering rack.
The dealer here in Aruba changed the steering rack under warrenty but the problem is still there.
There is only three 350z here on the island I hope I can find a fix for this. Because the dealership here cannot solve it.
Old 03-24-2009, 08:46 AM
darklocust
Banned

I'm having the same issue here. Called the dealer for the part and quoted me $1200. Anyone had this problem fixed? Did you replace the rack and tie rods?
Old 03-25-2009, 07:01 AM
phunk
CJ Motorsports

4.5 years later...