Motorsports The Z in its Natural Habitat

How to rid Understeer? (Long)

Search this Thread

Old 12-20-2002, 12:01 PM
wileecoyte

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How to rid Understeer? (Long)

Hey guys,

Haven't gotten my Z yet. Could've ordered a Track in Nov, pickup in Jan but I changed my mind. New M3 is awfully tempting BUT now the Z is growing on me again.

I plan on getting in a few track days a year, not a ton but some. So here's my question. I've read that the Z understeers quite a bit at the limit, but I have very little knowledge with tuning a suspension to get the desired result without making things worse. What could be done to dial out the understeer? The following are the only things I could think of:

1) Put on wider tires in the front to try to even up the grip between front and rear. I figure I wouldn't go much wider in the rear b/c the power isn't overwhelming, so maybe up to around 275's? And then get closer to that with the fronts like 265's. Any ideas there? Should you go with the same size all around?

2) Put a softer antiroll bar in the front, and stiffer in the rear. Or just one or the other?

3) Add more camber to the fronts? I'm pretty sure more camber=better grip but you can only go so far without trashing tires (if it's daily driven.) How far would be good to go for a mostly street driven car that will go on the occasional track foray? And the second part is I know that a lot of cars don't have enough camber adjustment, would it need camber plates?

Thanks for any info or help. I know a lot of parts are coming out now that may address this but I'd like to hear from some people that already have their cars and have some experience with this.
Old 12-20-2002, 12:14 PM
Throbber