Notices
Nitrous Oxide Too soon, jr.

Getting a Nitrous Kit..ok to keep stock exhaust?

Search this Thread

Old 07-24-2006, 11:32 PM
SeinZ

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Getting a Nitrous Kit..ok to keep stock exhaust?

I'm thinking of getting high flow cats but may not be doing so if they will change the sound of the car.

I have a lot of experience with Nitrous and want to run a NX wet kit (75 shot) on the Z.

My question is: If I end up not replacing the cats with higher flowing units, will I still be able to safely utilize a 75 shot? Air flow/air-fuel issues?

Thanks in advance!
Old 07-25-2006, 06:12 AM
first350

with Nitrous, you'll be pushing a lot more through your exhuast - it'd still be safe, but there's more to be gained with a more open exhaust system.

*I'm currently installing a NX 75 wet shot...it's taking awhile b/c of work and I'm doing it myself - let me know if you have any qeustions. (I'm learning tons as I go along)
Old 07-26-2006, 09:32 AM
Alberto
Cranky FI Owner

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts

You will not be pushing a lot more through the exhuast your not boosted lol. I agree you can make gains with an exhuast but you can keep it stock if you wish. Let me just say if you want to keep the stock sound, why not do HF cats or resonated test-pipes and then a y-pipe. The factory b-pipe and muffler flow well, Id say as good as just about any aftermarket system out.
Old 07-26-2006, 09:39 AM
johnny_domino

Originally Posted by first350
*I'm currently installing a NX 75 wet shot...it's taking awhile b/c of work and I'm doing it myself - let me know if you have any qeustions. (I'm learning tons as I go along)
How's the install? I was thinking about getting nitrous, but only if I did the install myself. So far I have installed all my own mods without any problems. I'm pretty mechanically inclined, and my dad used to be a mechanic. What's your experience with installing nitrous?
Old 07-26-2006, 10:54 AM
MySunset350Z