Notices
Nitrous Oxide Too soon, jr.

I have an automatic, please school me on the limits of nitrous.

Search this Thread

Old 05-23-2010, 03:53 PM
ninous26

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default I have an automatic, please school me on the limits of nitrous.

Hey guys, I am very new to the nitrous world.. I have an 03 5AT G35 coupe.

Performance mods:

Exhaust;

Custom catback exhaust. Using Stillen TD X pipe, stillen TD mid pipes with resonators, into 2 megan racing mufflers.. Exhuast diameter is 2.5 inches all the way.

Megan racing res. Test pipes and stock headers. > Soon to replaced with megan long tubes.

Engine;

Motordyne basic 1/2" spacer

Stillen air box with JWT popcharger velocity stack + filter into an Injen short ram pipe.

Differential;

3.5 FD W/ OEM VLSD.

Alright, so I have a Nitrous express kit with pretty much everything need to get the kit hooked up.. I have a TURBO XS UTEC coming in the mail which I will be using to have an N/A tune and a Nitrous tune.

My question is, how much power can the automatic transmission handle? I am doing a very conservative 75 shot.. Since I got the UTEC I know I can do up to a 125 shot. I have been thinking of upping to a 100 shot from the 75 but I have read that the auto tranny can only handle something like 333whp.. Well how much WTQ can it handle?

Another question, what RPMS should I have the nitrous cut at?

Is it safe to up my redline to 7000RPMS? If not, how about the N/A tune is 7K RPM safe there?

Last, will a Transgo Valve Body upgrade help my transmission handle more HP?

Sorry for being a noob about this.. I need help on this subject.. I will be taking the car to Tony @ UMS to have all this done.
Old 05-23-2010, 04:11 PM
zaperroni

are you planning on getting forged internal engine parts?
just because the utec is cabable of a 125 shot, doesnt mean your stock engine (rods etc) can handle it.
Old 05-23-2010, 04:14 PM
Vader007

Received 1 Like on 1 Post