Notices
Photography Techniques, Cameras, Lenses, & Equipment

How To: Frugal Artificial Light Product Photography

Search this Thread

Old 06-19-2008, 07:51 PM
ctwentytwo

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default How To: Frugal Artificial Light Product Photography

What separates the pros from joes is the knowledge and ability to shoot with artificial light. If you don't know, studio lighting or even portable strobes is very expensive. I'm no pro, but I though I'd share how I dabble with aritifical light for not much $$$. The inspiration came from a photo I saw in Flickr, with the basic knowledge coming from the book: Light, Science & Magic.

First, find a table without a top so you can put a clear acrylic (available at Lowes) or glass as replacement for the top. Or you can buy plastic pipes like I did and build a custom table. Another way is to find a coffee table that has a glass top.

For the lights, I just bought a couple of $7 dish light holders which has a clamp built in (though it's flimsy), and 100 watt equivalent compact fluorescent bulbs from Lowe's. I even employ some desk lamps I found around the house that can hold bulbs.

At Lowe's or Home Depot, get some rectagular ceiling light covers. You can find different styles, either opaque or clear, and "ice" or some other textures. The opaque ones diffuse more light, obviously, and can flex more. The clear ones are prone to cracking if you bend it too much. The ones I used are the clear and opaque "ice" type. The ice type has that broken glass look. These light covers are going to be used for the background.

Also, if you want to add color to the background, get some cello transparent gift wrap. You can add this to the back of the ceiling light covers. Use clothespins to hold them to the background.
Here's how I used them.

These pics show a red cello gift wrap used with the opaque ice light cover used as the background. The opaque covers allow for more light diffusion and less harsh lighting.