Notices
South East North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia, Florida

Moving to Key West

Search this Thread

Old 09-09-2005, 12:04 PM
ZRiCaN

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Moving to Key West

Its a lil early but I wanna be prepared, I am transferring to Key West early next summer, originally I grew up in miami so I have some knowledge, but none when it cames to living in the keys. just looking for any info for the area, cost of living, nitelife, boating. Ive heard its easier to live on one of the other keys, Im looking to rent a house. For other military folk, Im an E5 no dep, anyone no the BAH?
Old 09-09-2005, 01:24 PM
Zexy

This should be interesting! I wonder if there are other Z enthusiasts living in the keys.
Old 09-09-2005, 03:22 PM
ZRiCaN

Most likely a lot of rich people own houses in the keys for vacation homes, so there is money down there, not sayin you need money to own a Z. I am by no means wealthy, but I wouldnt doubt I run into one or two
Old 09-10-2005, 04:04 PM
ZRiCaN

BUMP! Man no info on the keys???
Old 09-10-2005, 04:34 PM
SoFla350z

Theres a meet/cruise in Key West next month.

http://www.sfzcc.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=1655

If I were to move down there I'd check into living in Marathon, one of the bigger more populated keys. I was there 2 weeks ago and rented a boat, everyone I talked to was very friendly.
Old 09-11-2005, 03:57 PM
ZRiCaN

Yea I've heard marathon is pretty nice, but I have to be within a certain distance of the base, which is on key west
Old 09-11-2005, 06:05 PM
PapaTango

Originally Posted by ZRiCaN
Yea I've heard marathon is pretty nice, but I have to be within a certain distance of the base, which is on key west
I lived in KW in '79-'81' working at the Army Dive School on Fleming Key. Back then KW was a rather quiet little back-water locale; a bunch of tourists during the winter months and practically empty in the summer.