Notices
Tuning Reflashes, Piggybacks, Standalone ECUs

Do I need an Uprev tune with these mods?

Search this Thread

Old 06-03-2013, 08:45 PM
EntropZ

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Do I need an Uprev tune with these mods?

I have been researching intensely for the past 2 months on what my first mods will be. I also now have a slipping clutch, and I figured I could get it all bundled at once through the vendor classifieds. I am looking at the following mods and wondering if I need to take my car to be UpRev tuned:

('05 Enthusiast 350Z 6MT)

JWT JWT 350Z Clutch/Flywheel Combo, 03-06 http://www.conceptzperformance.com/C...7107.8.182.107

JWT Popcharger Intake 03-06

Invidia Gemini Cat-back exhaust X-Pipe (Rolled titanium tips)

Berk HFC

I have the money for all of these mods, my clutch is still very driveable, just slippin a bit. However, I do not want to shell out $600 for an Uprev tune 200 miles south of me until I have headers, plenum and a manifold. Will I be fine with what I have selected (I know I will throw a CEL), or am I unable to run the flywheel without a tune? If necessary, I have no problem replacing the clutch only and saving the flywheel for later.

I tried searching around hard, and I couldn't find anything specific as this is kinda specific to my situation. Thanks a lot if you took the time to read this.

Last edited by EntropZ; 06-03-2013 at 08:47 PM. Reason: Forgot my thank you. you can't forget a thank you.
Old 06-03-2013, 08:49 PM
Bmurray350z

Received 91 Likes on 47 Posts

you will be fine without a tune as long as you don't ride with those mods, untuned, for a really long time.. as soon as you get your headers/plenum installed then get a tune.

btw, plenum/manifold = same thing
Old 06-03-2013, 11:48 PM
DarkCreep

Received 18 Likes on 13 Posts

Why would you throw a CEL? As long as you have spacers on your seconday O2 sensors you wont throw one.

Ive driven 1000+ miles on my test pipes and no CEL.
Old 06-04-2013, 03:08 AM
JCITY
Banned