Wheels & Tires 350Z Rollers and Rubbers

Why are these Dunlops so cheap?

Search this Thread

Old 08-10-2006, 08:25 AM
qwertyuiop
Banned

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Why are these Dunlops so cheap?

Why are these tires so cheap when compared to these Michelins? I am a complete tire noob so please don't flame if the answer is obvious.

Dunlop:
http://www.tirerack.com/tires/tires....g=YR&minLoad=S

Michelin:
http://www.tirerack.com/tires/tires....g=YR&minLoad=S
Old 08-10-2006, 08:32 AM
al503

michelin tires have always been (arguably or not) considered the best tires available and they have always charged a premium for them. They are lightweight compared to most other brands and the quality is noticeably better. I have a bud that manages a tire shop and he says that they have the least amount of problems (tire being out of round, inherently unbalanced, etc.) with the Michelins.

If you're thinking about the Pilot Sports, I'd suggest the Pilot Sport 2's as they are a better tire for about the same $$$.
Old 08-10-2006, 09:58 AM
Spec_Tacular

Dunlops make a fairly inexpensive performance tire. I have heard mixed things about them. However I had a set of Dunlop Winter Sport M3s for my Altima SE-R and they work great very impressive.
Old 08-10-2006, 12:20 PM
MustGoFastR

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Those Dunlops are decent tires. I had them on my Track rims in stock sizes. I was looking for cheap when I got them and they were new and no ratings were out on TireRack yet. I was pleasantly surprised at how the ratings compare to the BFG KDWII that cost much more. They aren't the best, but for the price, they are rated pretty high and perform well; I would recommend them.
Old 08-10-2006, 12:29 PM
MustGoFastR

And if you're thinking of ordering today, be sure to read this:

https://my350z.com/forum/wheels-and-tires/209501-discount-tire-direct-today-only-aug-10-a.html
Old 08-10-2006, 12:45 PM
Q45tech