Go Back   MY350Z.COM Forums > 350Z Tech Area > Audio & Video
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search


Welcome to my350z.com!
Welcome to my350z.com.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!


Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-15-2008, 07:25 AM   #1
designguy03350Z
Registered User
 
designguy03350Z's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 24
Default Help! does anyone own Eclipse AVN5435?

I have a problem with my head unit.... I recently had my battery changed and lost power to the head unit. This causes it to reboot. The issue is I bought my 350 used and the head unit came along without the DVD Map disc. This disc is apparently also used as the boot disc. So, I'm stuck staring at the Check map disc screen ... no radio, no CD, nothing. The disc costs around $300 dollars to replace (exactly why I haven't replaced it) so I was wondering if anyone has a disc I can borrow to boot it with or maybe a copy would work.
Thanks in advance for any help
designguy03350Z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2008, 07:32 AM   #2
kham25
Registered User
 
Trader Score: (1)
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: NY/NJ
Posts: 1,871
Points: 3,788, Level: 38
Points: 3,788, Level: 38 Points: 3,788, Level: 38 Points: 3,788, Level: 38
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by designguy03350Z
I have a problem with my head unit.... I recently had my battery changed and lost power to the head unit. This causes it to reboot. The issue is I bought my 350 used and the head unit came along without the DVD Map disc. This disc is apparently also used as the boot disc. So, I'm stuck staring at the Check map disc screen ... no radio, no CD, nothing. The disc costs around $300 dollars to replace (exactly why I haven't replaced it) so I was wondering if anyone has a disc I can borrow to boot it with or maybe a copy would work.
Thanks in advance for any help
I have the 5435 in my Lexus.. Listen Bro The MAP DVD disc is not the boot disk.. It works like this the first time you power on the head unit, you insert a music CD any sort. That CD will be forever be your boot CD.
I've replaced my battery also and my head unit would not turn on until that specific CD was in
kham25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2008, 07:47 AM   #3
designguy03350Z
Registered User
 
designguy03350Z's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 24
Default

Man..... so you're tellin me that the CD that the first owner put in will be the one I'm looking for (needle in a haystack) or The one I put in will then be the boot disc?
designguy03350Z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2008, 08:13 AM   #4
kham25
Registered User
 
Trader Score: (1)
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: NY/NJ
Posts: 1,871
Points: 3,788, Level: 38
Points: 3,788, Level: 38 Points: 3,788, Level: 38 Points: 3,788, Level: 38
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by designguy03350Z
Man..... so you're tellin me that the CD that the first owner put in will be the one I'm looking for (needle in a haystack) or The one I put in will then be the boot disc?
Exactly That first CD that the First Owner put in is your BOOT CD. The system will not start without it.
kham25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2008, 08:24 AM   #5
my05350z
Registered User
 
my05350z's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: south florida
Posts: 435
Default

wow, some1 is skreeeeeeewed. good luck
my05350z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2008, 08:27 AM   #6
designguy03350Z
Registered User
 
designguy03350Z's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 24
Default

WOW! that's a bummer. So Basically I'm F***ed. Well I've got a cool paper weight.
designguy03350Z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2008, 08:52 AM   #7
tribal_visionz
Registered User
 
tribal_visionz's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (16)
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: N. Virginia
Posts: 1,124
Points: 3,043, Level: 33
Points: 3,043, Level: 33 Points: 3,043, Level: 33 Points: 3,043, Level: 33
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Send a message via AIM to tribal_visionz
Default

Haahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahhahaha, if that isnt the stupid mistake from that company, what if it was a lil wayne remix, i got several. ...hahahahah
__________________
xclusivalliance
tribal_visionz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2008, 09:03 AM   #8
kham25
Registered User
 
Trader Score: (1)
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: NY/NJ
Posts: 1,871
Points: 3,788, Level: 38
Points: 3,788, Level: 38 Points: 3,788, Level: 38 Points: 3,788, Level: 38
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tribal_visionz
Haahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahhahaha, if that isnt the stupid mistake from that company, what if it was a lil wayne remix, i got several. ...hahahahah
Well actually if your car was broken into and headunit was stolen, it would never work with out that boot CD. Great idea actually.. If a thief was to steal your car etc, and battery was disconnected the head unit would never work... The person whom sold that car should have taken into consideration and provided that CD.. That asshat screwed you up
kham25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2008, 09:05 AM   #9
fatinma
Registered User
 
fatinma's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: G ran by
Posts: 342
Points: 2,276, Level: 28
Points: 2,276, Level: 28 Points: 2,276, Level: 28 Points: 2,276, Level: 28
Today's Activity: 0.4%
Today's Activity: 0.4% Today's Activity: 0.4% Today's Activity: 0.4%
Default

find an update DVD and turn on the HU with that in it and see if that works.
fatinma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2008, 10:28 AM   #10
kham25
Registered User
 
Trader Score: (1)
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: NY/NJ
Posts: 1,871
Points: 3,788, Level: 38
Points: 3,788, Level: 38 Points: 3,788, Level: 38 Points: 3,788, Level: 38
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fatinma
find an update DVD and turn on the HU with that in it and see if that works.

Does 'nt work i tryed that too i got the Avn 2.1 update for 2007 last year and tryed that as well
kham25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2008, 06:05 PM   #11
ParanoidAndroid
Registered User
 
ParanoidAndroid's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (5)
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Suwanee, GA
Posts: 690
Points: 3,013, Level: 33
Points: 3,013, Level: 33 Points: 3,013, Level: 33 Points: 3,013, Level: 33
Today's Activity: 0.3%
Today's Activity: 0.3% Today's Activity: 0.3% Today's Activity: 0.3%
Default

lol yea your screwed, i have had an exclipse head unit one time, i lost the cd so i called eclipse and they asked me to fax them my ID and the receipt, and they told me a bunch of buttons to press on my head-unit, and now i have a new cd for the boot disc. you could try and call them and talk your situation to them...all there operators are females, and they all sound hot as helllll.
ParanoidAndroid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2008, 08:56 PM   #12
Endless Shock
Registered User
 
Endless Shock's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (5)
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Northern California
Posts: 989
Send a message via AIM to Endless Shock Send a message via Yahoo to Endless Shock
Default

This is what you want to do... I had this problem... With the AVN 6600... Call Eclipse... You will have to ship it to them... Good luck with your dilema...
__________________
|Cusco|Nismo|Volk|Wilwood|BFGoodrich|Alpine|JL Audio|Eclipse|
Endless Shock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2008, 01:00 PM   #13
designguy03350Z
Registered User
 
designguy03350Z's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 24
Default

If it comes to that I will... but does anyone have a Map disc I can borrow... I called eclipse and they said it will boot off the map disc. I'll take care of any shipping costs and throw in some extra bucks.
designguy03350Z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2008, 01:00 PM
MyG37
Infiniti G37




Paid Advertisement
 
 
 
Reply

Tags
5435, audio, avn5435, check, disc, eclipe, eclipse, insert, lost, manual, map, reboot, rebooting, tellin, unit



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump

ADVERTISING
INSURANCE CENTER

All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:10 AM.


Advertise on MY350Z.COM - Terms of Service - Privacy Statement - Jobs
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2002 - 2008, MY350Z.COM All Rights Reserved.

Admin control Panel Backup