Notices
2003-2009 Nissan 350Z

350Z clutch lets out TOO High for me!!

Search this Thread

Old 12-17-2004, 10:54 PM
Phamaggot

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 350Z clutch lets out TOO High for me!!

Hiya guys:

I've been driving Nissan 280-->300 manual trannies (and nothing else) since 1986. After I traded my 300z93TT away I got a 350Z enthusiast coupe '05 just ast week. The clutch is bothering me... a lot! I actually stalled out at after a full stop uphill today: major shame! If I don't rev high rpms it is risky catching 1st gear.

I'm no mechanic, but it seems like the pedal must be let up quite high-up before the clutch releases and there's engagement of gear. My thigh and hip (knee?) don't seem to have the same degree of fine control over small increments of depression when they're all flexed up... not like when they're more extended. I pride myself on smooth shifting -or have done until this week!

Is there a way to have the clutch pedal adjusted so the critical zone of transition is closer to the floor? (Sorry abt my terminology here!)
Old 12-18-2004, 12:10 AM
lugar98

My only advice, is that it's easier if you move the seat up a tad bit closer than you need it. For some reason I like this angle better.
Old 12-18-2004, 06:59 AM
mdracer76
Banned

Our clutches are adjustable. If your not comfortable doing it yourself.. you can take it to the dealer.. mine adjusted my clutch for free..
Old 12-18-2004, 07:45 AM
SB Track

I learned to drive stick on a 1982 280zx! I must agree when I first got the G35coupe, I had to almost "re-learn", and then when I got the 350z, it wasn't even the same as the G35coupe... You'll get used to it.
Old 12-18-2004, 07:51 AM
Srivero297

Driving stick on my 350 compared my my M3 are two completely different ballgames.

My father has been driving stick for 30 years and I let him take my Z out once for a spin and he almost stalled and was jerking all over the place and grinding gears. He hated it, haha.
Old 12-18-2004, 08:40 AM
350black