Notices
2003-2009 Nissan 350Z

Air conditioner = Gas +/- different usage?

Search this Thread

Old 08-21-2005, 09:04 PM
mitchgt

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Air conditioner = Gas +/- different usage?

My question is… in different scenarios of use of the air conditioner is gas affected in any way? For instance would it be better just to have the windows cracked for a breeze, and the feet air conditioner on at 70degrees rather than 60. Or just put it on however since its already on and using gas anyway?

Scenarios I could think of:

Running the air conditioner on high or low (fans), colder than cold enough? Rec. Air or Air from the outside? Just the feet, or just the defroster?

- mitch

edit: Wow I didn't realize this was my first post... I'll introduce my self, I'm Mitch and just recently bought a 2003 350z base model(silverstone), and I'm a long time forum user, but I'm new to this one. whats up all.
Old 08-21-2005, 09:07 PM
zand02max
350Z-holic

From what I have read driving with your windows down, equals drag, which decreases gas mileage. They say to use the A/C but of course not full blast.

I seem to not have a problem with my windows down, Welcome to the forum.
Old 08-21-2005, 09:14 PM
the7ferret

AC in stop and go traffic sucks gas quick, better to use windows unless its unbearable.
AC on freeway is very efficent and better than using the windows.
Old 08-21-2005, 09:28 PM
KingOfV6

not using the A/C will also win races and improve your quarter mile times. it is just as much of a boost when u take Traction Control off.
Old 08-21-2005, 09:32 PM
mitchgt

I was thinking beyond this statements... more technical like having the fan on full blast make that much of a difference? And Temp. wise too. But hey thanks for all the quick replys I feel so welcome.
Old 08-21-2005, 09:37 PM
KingOfV6