Notices
2003-2009 Nissan 350Z

How to reset the ECU

Old 12-31-2002, 07:56 AM
  #1  
TRACK350z
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
TRACK350z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 232
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question How to reset the ECU

Does anyone know How to reset the ECU after you do a simple mod. IE Change air filter, Add CAI, change exhaust etc...

Any help would be appreciated!

This is important for those of us putting in the K&N or taking off the pre-silencer.

Please Help
TRACK350z is offline  
Old 12-31-2002, 08:11 AM
  #2  
ganz
Registered User
 
ganz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Diego
Posts: 319
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default From another thread

Not sure if this is THE correct way, but it seems logical...

Originally posted by n3985
To reset ECU, remove battery's negative terminal for 30sec to 10min, every car is different (simple way-step on brake til light no longer shines) then reconnect, fire it up and drive around
ganz is offline  
Old 12-31-2002, 08:30 AM
  #3  
zogan
Registered User
 
zogan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 507
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: How to reset the ECU

Originally posted by TRACK350z
Does anyone know How to reset the ECU after you do a simple mod. IE Change air filter, Add CAI, change exhaust etc...

Any help would be appreciated!

This is important for those of us putting in the K&N or taking off the pre-silencer.

Please Help
According to N3985 you have to:
To reset ECU, remove battery's negative terminal for 30sec to 10min, every car is different (simple way-step on brake til light no longer shines) then reconnect, fire it up and drive around
zogan is offline  
Old 03-22-2003, 11:48 AM
  #4  
chazzg
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
chazzg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,153
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

any more info on this????
chazzg is offline  
Old 03-22-2003, 01:22 PM
  #5  
z327
Registered User
 
z327's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Sachse, Texas
Posts: 246
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by chazzg
any more info on this????
Try EC-50 to EC-53 in the factory service manual. Seems to work.
z327 is offline  
Old 03-22-2003, 03:27 PM
  #6  
MannishBoy
350Z-holic
iTrader: (1)
 
MannishBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Nashville
Posts: 6,747
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

MannishBoy is offline  
Old 03-23-2003, 05:33 AM
  #7  
Turcoupe
Registered User
 
Turcoupe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 318
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Disconnecting the negative terminal from the battery will not reset the ECU. I tried doing that when I got my XM radio radio installed and had the SES light. FIrst I tried it for 15, then 30, then an hour. I took it to the dealership the next day and they reset it in less than 30 mins. But, if your dealer is far away or is backed up, u may want to attempt the service manual's long process of resetting it.
Turcoupe is offline  
Old 03-23-2003, 05:43 AM
  #8  
Traffic
Registered User
 
Traffic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 2,320
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: How to reset the ECU

Originally posted by TRACK350z
Does anyone know How to reset the ECU after you do a simple mod. IE Change air filter, Add CAI, change exhaust etc...

Any help would be appreciated!

This is important for those of us putting in the K&N or taking off the pre-silencer.

Please Help
The ECU adapts to modifications like CAI and exhaust?
Traffic is offline  
Old 03-23-2003, 06:46 AM
  #9  
MannishBoy
350Z-holic
iTrader: (1)
 
MannishBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Nashville
Posts: 6,747
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by Turcoupe
Disconnecting the negative terminal from the battery will not reset the ECU. I tried doing that when I got my XM radio radio installed and had the SES light. FIrst I tried it for 15, then 30, then an hour. I took it to the dealership the next day and they reset it in less than 30 mins. But, if your dealer is far away or is backed up, u may want to attempt the service manual's long process of resetting it.
Actually, it will, it just takes 24 hours according to the manual.
MannishBoy is offline  
Old 03-23-2003, 08:01 PM
  #10  
chazzg
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
chazzg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,153
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Re: How to reset the ECU

Originally posted by Daytona
The ECU adapts to modifications like CAI and exhaust?

Yes, After any Mod such as installing a CAI you need to reset your ECM to get any gains
chazzg is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Colombo
Forced Induction
32
08-15-2018 06:05 PM
MatthewBouchard
Tuning
12
07-18-2017 10:45 AM
hulkout
Tuning
1
09-30-2015 12:33 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: How to reset the ECU


Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: