Notices
2003-2009 Nissan 350Z

Any changes needed for cold winter driving

Search this Thread

Old 01-08-2008, 03:11 PM
happy_go_lucky_

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Any changes needed for cold winter driving

I just moved from Houston, TX to Reno, NV after having recently bought an '05 Z and had the car shipped over. Out here in Reno, its cold as hell and its even been snowing over the past weekend. This is the first time that I am in a place that snows and driving is a real pain in the rear especially with my stock tires and all. Anyways, the question I had was, is there was anything that I need to change to adapt the car for extreme winter driving (averages around 35 degrees), something like antifreeze, different fluids maybe, etc? I am a noob and this is my first RWD and I absolutely love it.

Also, does driving on the snow or ice have any damaging effect on the car ? I drive real slow (around 15-20miles) and sometimes when I brake I can feel a shudder on the brake pedal as the car slides coming to a stop. Is that normal ? Should I expect more tire wear and tear bcoz of driving on ice ? What kind of maintenance should I do?
Old 01-08-2008, 03:15 PM
Hoods

You are going to get alot of people telling you to to search, but the general consensus around here is do not drive the snow in the Z. Get a beater, and if you must, get snow tires for when you do take the Z out...
Old 01-08-2008, 03:19 PM
happy_go_lucky_

Originally Posted by Hoods
You are going to get alot of people telling you to to search, but the general consensus around here is do not drive the snow in the Z. Get a beater, and if you must, get snow tires for when you do take the Z out...
Well I did read all bout the tires and thats not what Im looking for. I was wondering more about the fluids that go under the hood.
Old 01-08-2008, 03:31 PM
Hoods

Originally Posted by happy_go_lucky_