Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

"After market parts" Are we getting screwed

Search this Thread

Old 01-23-2010, 03:25 AM
duro78

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default "After market parts" Are we getting screwed

Being that after market automotive parts is a billion dollar a year industry and there really is no set market value for used parts. Why is it when i buy a part for top dollar it has little to no value once i've taken it off the shelf? Usually a manufacture factors in there cost to make the product then it is shipped to a vendor then both parties factor in their overhead then add their mark up and then still must stay competitive in their pricing. I firmly believe in personalizing ones vehicle but at what cost. I've been doing it for almost 15 years and every new car i get I tell myself im not gonna spend as much $ on it but as others do i get bored looking at the same platform. My gripe is an after market part has a set price but when purchased no matter the condition even if bnib even if one lowers the price to 25% below retail there will be little to no interest in buying it. In a lot of cases after market parts fetch a higher price than oem parts which do have a value.No matter what the part whether its $10 or $10k it has no trade-in value and the buyer must succumb to what someone is willing to pay him for it. I have now chosen to purchase used parts but for the most part being that the z is a rear wheel sports car most of the good stuff is either in cali. or florida(factor in shipping). Yes there is no set market price for these parts so they're essentially worth what someone is willing to spend on them but why is it sooo much less than the top dollar that manufactures ask for them even when sold as bnib. Yes this does apply to most items sold in the U.S but for the most part we spend the most $ modding our cars aside from our homes which do have value. Yes there is piece of mind when buying new parts from a vendor instead of from joe smoe. So while on the