Notices
2003-2009 Nissan 350Z

driving techniques

Search this Thread

Old 01-27-2004, 11:03 AM
drgenefish

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default driving techniques

So I am new to driving stick (had my first lesson 3 days ago) and I need to learn fast because I might be picking up my Z in a few days. I have two questions:

1) Let's take this scenerio...you are doing 45mph and say in 4th gear when you see a stop sign coming. You want to downshift into third, then second, then stop...then put it in first after the stop. (Right?) When you downshift, do you need to apply the gas when you engage the clutch?

2) When I am creeping to a stop to park and I need to inch forward a bit, is it bad to ride the clutch or is that just what you have to do? Or to reverse slowly, do you just relase the clutch a little bit and not all the way?

Thank you in advance..

P.S. If anyone in the Philly area wants to trade a driving lesson for a few adjustments, let me know!
Old 01-27-2004, 11:21 AM
SoBe

If you are new dont down shift your gonna bounce around a lot. If you wanna make it easy pop it in the neutral and just use the brake. it is VERY easy to do.
Old 01-27-2004, 11:27 AM
tbcz

To answer the second (easier) question, riding the clutch somewhat in low speed creeping situations is just a fact of life. As long as you don't do it for extended periods of time or distances it will not cause undue wear on your clutch. Same for reverse.