Notices
2003-2009 Nissan 350Z

400hp 350z!

Search this Thread

Old 06-20-2020, 04:52 PM
Gryphon

Received 12 Likes on 2 Posts
Default 400hp 350z!

I know there will be no shortage of Z's making more than mine but this is my first boosted car and the first engine i have ever built so i'm quite proud of myself. For any one looking to go boosted i highly recommend it if you can do it. The car was built completely by me in my garage, no crazy tools or machining processes and no outside shops aside from the dyno tuner. I am not a mechanic, just a guy who likes cars and likes to tinker.

To start off the front of the car was completely drained of fluids and everything from the license plate to the serpentine belt was cleared away so the engine could be pulled out.

There is a ton of silicone holding these engine together, its often hard to tell if you missed a bolt or if the silicone is just keeping it glued together.

Even with ample table space the engine still took up a ton of real estate. At this point i wasn't sure if she would ever run again.

The pistons and cylinders were quite clean even with 105k on the motor. A simple ball hone in a hand drill put a nice new finish on cylinder walls.

Wiseco pistons and eagle rods go together quite nicely. Filling down all the piston rings takes quite a bit longer than i thought it would.

Bottom end rebuilt with the new pistons, ACL bearings, ARP hardware and tons of lube.

I made a simple tool from pipe to take the valves out so everything could be cleaned and reassembled with new valve seals.

The Z1 motor mounts are much nicer than the stock ones and hold the engine very firmly. I also used the Z1 transmission mount and differential bushings so the whole drive train is ready for the power of boost.