Notices
2003-2009 Nissan 350Z

2003 Nissan 350z touring misfire to no crank no start

Search this Thread

Old 11-15-2021, 06:08 AM
Bhooper66

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2003 Nissan 350z touring misfire to no crank no start

So I purchased my 6 speed manual 350z about two months ago upon buying it every seemed to check out. I am a mechanic but I work for cdjr. I don’t know a lot about the 350z platform but I am fairly familiar with the de motor that’s in it. When I first picked up the car I did all of the basic maintenance oil change, transmission fluid, brake job, power steering…etc. But about 2 weeks ago I decided to changed the spark plugs on it . After I was done I started it up and after about 5-10 seconds it started to misfire noticeable(mind you it is fully straight piped).So I shut the car off and checked all the spark plugs. I made sure they were gapped correctly as well as making sure all of the coils were in good condition and they were. Started it up for the second time and no miss fire I drove around for about 20 minutes to make sure and it was fine.

The following week I was taking a road trip about 2 hours away and halfway there going about 80-90 on the highway it started to have a lot of misfires so I pulled off of the highway and when I got to the light at the off ramp and shifted into first my car stalled I tried 2-3 times to start it back up with no luck. So I pushed it across the traffic to a safe place and check all of the coils and battery connections. I also had a battery tester and jump pack with me. The battery read fine and I put the jump pack on. I let it sit for 5 minutes and tried to start it with no luck again. So I took the battery pack off and started making some calls about 10 minutes later I tried again to start it and it started up no problem no misfire. So at this point I drove to where I was going.