Notices
Audio & Video 350Z Mobile entertainment and other electronics

7" in upper Cubby (again)

Search this Thread

Old 02-12-2010, 03:56 PM
usgpru27

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 7" in upper Cubby (again)

OK.. I have read about every post I think on the subject of mounting a Kenwood L702 screen in the upper cubby.I am new to the Z and to AV. I have seen "the Duke" install that was for only Nav and its really nice. I really want the Kenwood V500 car portal system. I like its flexible and that it has a stealth factor. I do want the LCD to be full function. So if I have this correct I have a few options?

1. Purchase the 03 cubby and modify but will not have the lower buttons? (not a good option as I want the screen full function and do not like a remote. Should this be an option is just the Service Nissan cubby needed or the entire panel.. Is it the correct color for an 08?
2. Purchase a NAV dash and install into that. I see this and it looks really clean. My understanding is that obviously the factory Bose NAV buttons and such do not work.. Why not take all that out and make a filler in place of the buttons? If done correctly wouldn't that gain enough space for the lower LCD buttons? Yes some custom work but appears to have more room. I would imagine there is some panel mounting under it but I would bet that can be worked out. I would think the panel would be secure without it. As I have the standard radio and not the Bose I think its smaller. I would prefer to have a shop create a filler for the stock radio in the NAV dash also.
3. Have someone cut the hell out of my 08 cubby. Sounds like a real mess. Again must loose the panel mounting under the inner cover to have any chance at access to the lower buttons. There appears to be another mount deeper in.

I am just trying to see what direction to go to start planning. I am not interested in the 4.3 screen. Just to small I think for full use.