Notices
Audio & Video 350Z Mobile entertainment and other electronics

Low Volume with Aftermarket Head Unit

Old 04-10-2013, 10:41 AM
  #21  
oldschool350z
Registered User
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: NY
Posts: 2,514
Likes: 0
Liked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

I think the rca inputs rob the volume. Only way to fix is PAC harness
oldschool350z is offline  
Old 04-12-2013, 04:51 PM
  #22  
oldschool350z
Registered User
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: NY
Posts: 2,514
Likes: 0
Liked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Update: I used the PAC harness and now its clearer and loud like normal. Sounds better then stock
oldschool350z is offline  
Old 05-05-2013, 12:12 AM
  #23  
rebelscum
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: tennessee
Posts: 56
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I'm a car sterio installer and have been for 12 years. Nissan bose systems (or any Bose for that matter) have a VERY high preamp voltage off the stock headunit and the Bose amp is designed to work with it. If you buy a aftermarket CD player and add it to the Bose amp using Metra part number 70-7551 (as I'm certain you all did or something like it), then you MUST use a radio that has at least 4volt preouts to avoid this problem.... A workaround is to use Metra part number 70-7550 (non-amplified harness) and wire the speaker leads as normal, but then you will have the OPPOSITE problem it being TOO loud because you're running an amplified signal into the amp. If you decide to go that route you can work around that by using the 70-7551 with line out converters on the speaker leads (NOT the rca connections) on your lower powered aftermarket radio and adjusting the lineouts to a power level proper for the Bose amp. ...... PAC makes all kinds of interface adaptors... I'm fairly certain the one you guys were taking about is most likely a lineout converter......That is really it as far as all this is concerned.

Last edited by rebelscum; 05-05-2013 at 12:14 AM.
rebelscum is offline  
Old 03-07-2019, 09:46 AM
  #24  
Darrel Fisk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 1
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default So what pac harness did you use

Originally Posted by oldschool350z View Post
Update: I used the PAC harness and now its clearer and loud like normal. Sounds better then stock
What pac harness did you use and did you still use the metra 707551
Darrel Fisk is offline  
Old 03-07-2019, 11:05 AM
  #25  
jhc
General & Tech Moderator
MY350Z.COM
 
jhc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: ZdayZ
Posts: 7,917
Liked 1,516 Times in 1,040 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Darrel Fisk View Post
What pac harness did you use and did you still use the metra 707551
This thread has beed idle for 5 years. Call a company called Crutchfield for free advice. Gl!
jhc is offline  
Old 03-07-2019, 12:17 PM
  #26  
MicVelo
350Z/370Z Tech Moderator
MY350Z.COM
 
MicVelo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Northern California
Posts: 6,990
Liked 1,951 Times in 1,415 Posts
Default

https://pac-audio.com/catalog/radio-...ment/roem-nis2

Shop around. Like $35-40. All that's needed for aftermarket-to-Blose system upgrade.
MicVelo is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
XM 1
Engine & Drivetrain
25
02-10-2019 09:58 AM
MM'08_350Z
VQ35HR
224
08-10-2017 12:55 PM
350z82
Exterior & Interior
19
10-01-2015 06:25 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Low Volume with Aftermarket Head Unit


Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: