Notices
Autocross/Road SCCA Solo II, SCCA Club Racing, Redline Track Events, Speed Trial, Speed Ventures, Grand-Am Cup, JGTC, Procar Australia

Who drives their car to the track???

Search this Thread

Old 08-05-2008 | 12:39 PM
Axelerate

Default Who drives their car to the track???

Some fellow track goers are trying to scare me into a truck/trailer, but the funds are not in place right now for even a small loan.

I tried telling them that it helps not tracking a complete POS. I would like to trailer my car, but it also adds two more pieces of equipment to fail. I like to think that with a strict pre-track day prep and good maintenance, that my car can do both reliably.

So, I was curious to see how many people drive their car to the track and back?

So far I have been tracking for 5 years and I have always made it home. My last event at VIR, I had my left rear wheel come off when all my studs snapped. Luckily it was at low speed (exiting Oak Tree) and the damage was VERY minimal.

I had spare studs and borrowed some lugs, got the wheel re-balanced and I was out with my next session. It scared me and made me question everything. I have replaced all the studs with ARP's, so hopefully it will not happen again. So if you have Nismo studs, be careful!
Old 08-05-2008 | 12:42 PM
Sleepy79

You had the long nismo studs and they snapped?
Old 08-05-2008 | 12:51 PM
Axelerate

Yep. Two more of them snapped while I was changing wheels to go home. One each front wheel.
Old 08-05-2008 | 01:32 PM
BloMyS14

I drive mine to events, and it's my daily driver. If I had the funds I'd have a truck and trailer.
Old 08-05-2008 | 01:40 PM
davidv

Me. Me.

HPDE or autocross or the dragstrip. I drive it just the way I brought it.
Old 08-05-2008 | 01:52 PM
terrasmak
Super Moderator
MY350Z.COM
Premier Member

I drive to the track, but i'm thinking about trading up for a bigger truck to tow. It would just make it easier for supplies and if my car or one of my friends cars takes a crap.