DIY OEM sideskirt removal& cw style side skirt(CF) install

Search this Thread

Old 07-20-2010, 02:15 PM
ImWeeZzel
350Z-holic

Received 18 Likes on 12 Posts
Default DIY OEM sideskirt removal& cw style side skirt(CF) install

Hey everyone,

I wanted to put my cw style side skirts on my car but I didn't have a clue on how to remove the oem sides. For those of you who dont know, the oem side skirts (front and rear mud guards too) have to be removed to put cw style side skirts on. After searching teh forums, I found an outdated thread but pics where unavailable (you know who u are)

Attention: Please keep in mind that I have zero experience in body work, and 1yr of education when it comes to automotive service. I don't do this for a living so please dont flame or blame me for something not going right. This is my first time removing & installing side skirts and I used my beloved Z as a platform for trial and error. I dont have a badass lift, or high speed tools that shops do. Im an average joe who takes pride in his work and I do make mistakes:

Estimated time??? I dunno how ever long it takes???
I rate the difficulty of this project about 5/10. IMO its a time consuming task and would work better w/two people.
Now to the removal, here's something you dont nessecarily have to have, but it would make the install easier.

Tools that I used: Flat head screw driver/s (more than one, if you have a really long one thats awesome!!!) Phillips head screw driver/s, 10mm deep well socket, 3/8 rachet, tape (blue painters) jack stands, low profile jack.

1.) First, (not needed but recommended) make sure you order the correct part before you install and check your product for damage/defects.