Notices
Brakes & Suspension 350Z stoppers, coils, shocks/dampers

Springs for a "Club Sport" Daily Driver

Search this Thread

Old 11-29-2005, 09:30 AM
Silverton

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Springs for a "Club Sport" Daily Driver

What custom spring rate and drop for a "club sport" daily driver (that is run a few times a year open track) would you recommend? I'm looking at either TC Kline Koni DAs or the Truechoice Phase 3 Koni DA coil-overs. Sway bars are 350 Evo. As a daily driver I want no more than 0.25" drop F/R (about like the Tein H-Techs). The springs in the Truechoice / Unitech Review thread are 500lbs / 425 lbs F/R, but these are for a much more track oriented setup. Any suggestions are greatly appreciated.
Old 11-29-2005, 12:18 PM
Gsedan35

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

As far as TC Kline Koni DA's or the Truechoice Unitech coilovers,...well. The Truechoice setup will allow you a measure of ride height selection and the ability to corner weight. But, we have rather well known very serious concern's reliability with at least one owner of that system.

Truechoice
Pro's:
Shortened shock bodies and piston shaft lengths
Coilover's with the abilty to adjust ride height and corner weight
Valving determined by track testing by the Unitech race team

Truechoice
Con's:
The reliability question

TC Kline
Pro's
The ability to adjust compression damping and rebound damping seperately from one another vs adjusting both together.
The ability to cover a wide range of spring rates
Because they are custom made by Koni for TC Kline, you can add on Koni coilover part's on the front shocks giving you ride height adjustablity and the ability to corner weight.
Valving ranges set by a company with a very active race team.

TC Kline
Con's
Same shock body length and piston shaft length as off the shelf Koni SA's*
Having to dial in the compression and rebound settings to be ideal.
http://www.amfmotorsports.com/prod/koni.1.1.htm