Notices
Buying/Leasing 350Z/370Z Purchasing Info

Newbie Buyer Education & "Should I buy?"

Search this Thread

Old 08-25-2009, 07:16 AM
Alterscape

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie Buyer Education & "Should I buy?"

I just started looking seriously into buying a 350Z after several years of admiring the cars and saving money. I'm not a very aggressive driver, but I love the styling. I commute about 30 miles per day, and usually make one or two weekend trips (300+ miles) per month. I'm still learning the ins and outs of the cars and trying to figure out what model year/trim is best for me. What I've seen so far:

- '03s tend to chew up front tires, so probably aren't great buys.
- '06s (or is it '05s?) tend to burn oil. Nissan will repair them (under warranty?) but it's not a fun process.
- '07+ has the new engine, more hp but lower torque.
- '05+ got side curtain airbags? (I don't really care, but my insurer gives a discount so it's nice to know)

I don't currently drive manual, but I'd like to learn (a friend of mine races autox and is willing to teach me). I've read a few posts around here saying that the automatic transmissions are far more reliable than the 6spd manual, though.

I'm pretty sure I want Base or Enthusiast trim. Track and Grand Touring are too rare/rich for my blood. Touring might be neat, but I don't really need all the extras. Any thoughts?

Is there anything else I should be googling at this point? I've read the "distinguishing the trim levels" thread.

So on to the "should I buy this" questions. All are private-party sellers I've located through local classifieds. Seems like this is a good time to have been saving money for years to buy a fun car. *g*