Notices
Engine & Drivetrain VQ Power and Delivery

RevUp Oil Consumption TSB and discussion

Search this Thread

Old 05-06-2009, 08:46 AM
Swiffer

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I wonder if this is something that can appear over time? Reason I'm asking is that I'm now at 30,000 miles and I havent had any issues yet with my 06. I change the oil about every 4000 miles and its only been low by 1/4 - 1/2 quart when I change it...not much. FWIW, mine was built in Feb 06.
Old 05-06-2009, 09:15 AM
TwoStroke350Z

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Add me into the V2 swap and having it go bad too. 700 miles on the new engine and its burning oil like crazy (1/3 down the stick). I had 36k miles on the original engine and it didn't use near as much oil. I'm Taking it back to Metro Nissan of Redlands tomorrow to see about a buyback.
Old 05-06-2009, 04:08 PM
350zfan1320

Hey everyone,

I am by no means a mechanic and my mechanical experience is all self taught on my old two 240s. I have skimmed the pages in this thread and searched for all sorts of key words to try and find if anyone seems to have found the fix or suggested the same thing I am about to suggest. My 06 has just started burning oil, it is originally a US car but I am up in Canada. Oil change after oil change it has been perfect, either always full or down just about 100ml (assuming from L to H is 946ml) after the 5000KM mark. Now it is down 500-600ml after 3200km and I have just topped it off. My exhaust tips are dirtier than normal on the bottom as well. The VQ35 has a history of burning oil in other Manual Nissan vehicles, here we have the TSB for the V2 motor that doesn't really seem to fix it for everyone, in the Maxima land and Pathfinder land they generally seem to agree that the problem lies in the right-side (passenger) valve cover and PCV valve, and replacing the two makes the problem go away for X period of time. People seem to shoot this idea down here but has anyone taken their passenger valve cover here off and