Engine & Drivetrain VQ Power and Delivery

New to Z, checking oil level

Search this Thread

Old 05-19-2007, 06:02 PM
Ziggyrama

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default New to Z, checking oil level

Hey guys,
I am new to the Z. I picked mine up a week ago and earlier today I was trying to check my oil level. Is it me or is the oil level dip stick a real PITA? It seems like there isn't much room to pull the thing out and get a reliable reading. I tried several times to get a consistent reading on the oil level but everytime I pulled the stick out, the oil would get smudged due to the fact that it's so damn hard to pull the stick out without any obstructions, especially against the intake tube. And when I avoid it, the oil gets rubbed against the dip stick shaft that goes into the oil pan. Am I retarded or is this really a pain in the behind? I'm by no means a newb when it comes to cars. I just found the oil checking process on a Z a pain in the behind given all the obstructions. Anybody else find this annoying?
Old 05-19-2007, 08:06 PM
Bevo

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Originally Posted by Ziggyrama
Hey guys,
I am new to the Z. I picked mine up a week ago and earlier today I was trying to check my oil level. Is it me or is the oil level dip stick a real PITA? It seems like there isn't much room to pull the thing out and get a reliable reading. I tried several times to get a consistent reading on the oil level but everytime I pulled the stick out, the oil would get smudged due to the fact that it's so damn hard to pull the stick out without any obstructions, especially against the intake tube. And when I avoid it, the oil gets rubbed against the dip stick shaft that goes into the oil pan. Am I retarded or is this really a pain in the behind? I'm by no means a newb when it comes to cars. I just found the oil checking process on a Z a pain in the behind given all the obstructions. Anybody else find this annoying?