Notices
Engine & Drivetrain VQ Power and Delivery

limp mode now start problem.

Old 11-24-2018, 02:21 PM
  #1  
Sean Wilson
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: San Jose
Posts: 14
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default limp mode now start problem.

SOLVED: Crankshaft Sensor came lose. Probably didn't torque it enough after replacing my clutch.

seems to struggle to keep 500rpm. I tried giving it gas with no response.
On the way home the car seemed to go into some kind of limp mode. any time I'd go past 2,500 Rpm in any gear the car Would bog horribly. Started happening on the highway 10 minutes from my house. I tried to start the car later and today and this it what would happen.
The fuel pump still primes. Surely this isn't the MAF? It's just not starting properly. Maybe throttle body?
It's been raining these last few days, but the car has been covered the whole time.

Car has 80k miles, year 2006, and no mods.

Last edited by Sean Wilson; 12-02-2018 at 10:17 AM. Reason: added car details
Sean Wilson is offline  
Old 11-24-2018, 02:31 PM
  #2  
travlee
Master
iTrader: (8)
 
travlee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 37,940
Received 5,985 Likes on 4,130 Posts
Default

How many miles, year, mods. My guess would be Replace cam shaft sensors witg oem
travlee is online now  
The following users liked this post:
Sean Wilson (11-24-2018)
Old 11-24-2018, 02:33 PM
  #3  
Sean Wilson
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: San Jose
Posts: 14
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Added car details
Sean Wilson is offline  
Old 11-24-2018, 02:56 PM
  #4  
dkmura
General & DIY Moderator
MY350Z.COM
iTrader: (62)
 
dkmura's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Aurora, Colorado
Posts: 6,843
Received 732 Likes on 501 Posts
Default

Try pulling codes before you do anything else.

Last edited by dkmura; 11-24-2018 at 08:18 PM.
dkmura is offline  
The following users liked this post:
Sean Wilson (11-24-2018)
Old 11-24-2018, 03:02 PM
  #5  
Sean Wilson
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: San Jose
Posts: 14
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by dkmura View Post
Try pull codes before you do anything else.
Will be able to when my wife comes home with my scanner. Definitely waiting.
Sean Wilson is offline  
Old 11-24-2018, 10:13 PM
  #6  
Sean Wilson
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: San Jose
Posts: 14
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

p0335 pending code. Guess i'm replacing camshaft sensors
Sean Wilson is offline  
Old 11-25-2018, 02:44 AM
  #7  
travlee
Master
iTrader: (8)
 
travlee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 37,940
Received 5,985 Likes on 4,130 Posts
Default

Use oem
travlee is online now  
Old 11-25-2018, 06:11 AM
  #8  
karlt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Williamsville, NY
Posts: 210
Likes: 0
Received 40 Likes on 33 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Sean Wilson View Post
p0335 pending code. Guess i'm replacing camshaft sensors
P0335 is a crankshaft position sensor code, not a camshaft sensor code.
karlt is offline  
The following users liked this post:
Sean Wilson (12-02-2018)
Old 12-01-2018, 06:50 PM
  #9  
Sean Wilson
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: San Jose
Posts: 14
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by karlt View Post
P0335 is a crankshaft position sensor code, not a camshaft sensor code.
I replaced the passenger crankshaft position sensor and reset ecu with no change.
Sean Wilson is offline  
Old 12-02-2018, 02:52 AM
  #10  
karlt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Williamsville, NY
Posts: 210
Likes: 0
Received 40 Likes on 33 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Sean Wilson View Post
I replaced the passenger crankshaft position sensor and reset ecu with no change.
There is only 1 crankshaft position sensor and it's mounted on the upper oil pan next to the flywheel. You may have replaced the wrong sensor.
karlt is offline  
The following users liked this post:
Sean Wilson (12-02-2018)
Old 12-02-2018, 05:21 AM
  #11  
travlee
Master
iTrader: (8)
 
travlee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 37,940
Received 5,985 Likes on 4,130 Posts
Default

And he prob used aftermarket sensors which more times than not dont work right
travlee is online now  
Old 12-02-2018, 10:11 AM
  #12  
Sean Wilson
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: San Jose
Posts: 14
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by karlt View Post
There is only 1 crankshaft position sensor and it's mounted on the upper oil pan next to the flywheel. You may have replaced the wrong sensor.
Solved! Thank you.
Totally replaced the camshaft sensor instead of my crankshaft sensor.... Turns out my Crankshaft position sensor had come lose somehow. I just had to tighten the bolt back up. I Had recently done my clutch with help from a friend. Seems like we didn't torque it enough.
Car works fine now.
Sean Wilson is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
johnmlebel
2003-2009 Nissan 350Z
8
07-11-2016 03:35 PM
Moncef
Tuning
2
06-09-2016 03:43 AM
Blwn_By_Twins
Forced Induction
18
06-18-2008 11:39 AM
Axelerate
Engine & Drivetrain
4
02-14-2008 05:46 AM
jining
Intake Exhaust
15
02-02-2008 10:10 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: limp mode now start problem.


Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: