Notices
Forced Induction Turbochargers and Superchargers..Got Boost?

Vortech - Gates belt walking off idler pulley

Search this Thread

Old 05-08-2005, 03:00 PM
mysunset

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Vortech - Gates belt walking off idler pulley

Since I am new to the whole FI game, I decided to take some advice of other memebers and replace the Gatorback belt that comes with the Vortech and replace with a Gates equivalent. The gatorback that comes with the kit apparently is slipping and not allowing the blower to produce full boost. Only making 6.6 max on average.

Got the new belt on, started it up and discovered the belt walked off the first rib of the idler pulley. So with that said, I have a couple questions:

Is the belt too tight causing it to walk off the rib?
Is there an alignment problem that would cause this? (possible suspect)

Interesting enough the stock gatorback belt does not walk over the rib. But considering the gatorback is slightly thinner belt, it may be more forgiving.
Old 05-08-2005, 03:09 PM
Phaneom

I'd start it up and check if anything is loose, like maybe one of the pullies on the plate.
Old 05-08-2005, 03:11 PM
teh215

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

My guesss is that one of the pullies is out of alignment.
Old 05-08-2005, 03:25 PM
Phaneom

Yeah I was kind of trying to say what teh215 said lol, Maybe I got to much sun today.
Old 05-08-2005, 05:14 PM
kopo

Mysunset, Who did your vortech install in chicago?
Old 05-09-2005, 06:31 PM
mysunset

Originally Posted by kopo
Mysunset, Who did your vortech install in chicago?
I did it myself... with some help of course. I am a detailed person and took my time. Fortunately my uncle owns a collision shop. I would not have considered performing the install without using a lift or having the right tools.
Old 05-10-2005, 11:09 AM
gspot35