Notices
Intake Exhaust Moving all that air in and out efficiently

Air Intake

Search this Thread

Old 07-22-2018, 11:21 AM
xS3CT0Rx9

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Air Intake

Whats up everyone? I'm still new to the car world and wanted to buy a cold air intake and fked up and just bought an air filter from jwt, essentially just creating a ram intake. So my question is, is it possible to make a custom tubing to force cold air up into the intake area. Also, would it make any difference? Instead of buying a new cold air intake system.

I've got a 06 350z roadster.
Old 07-22-2018, 12:37 PM
dkmura
General & DIY Moderator
MY350Z.COM

Received 1,292 Likes on 896 Posts

Welcome- this question has been asked a thousand times and the answer remains the same. Without retuning the ECM, any extra air being forced into the intake won't make any difference. Nissan also did an excellent job on the stock intake, designing it with a fairly straight shot from the front of the car, building it with a composite material to keep heat sink down and using an easy to check air filter system to keep clean airflow flowing. Building a DIY intake system and hoping to top all that factory R&D?

Forget it.
Old 07-22-2018, 06:34 PM
xS3CT0Rx9

Originally Posted by dkmura
Welcome- this question has been asked a thousand times and the answer remains the same. Without retuning the ECM, any extra air being forced into the intake won't make any difference. Nissan also did an excellent job on the stock intake, designing it with a fairly straight shot from the front of the car, building it with a composite material to keep heat sink down and using an easy to check air filter system to keep clean airflow flowing. Building a DIY intake system and hoping to top all that factory R&D?

Forget it.