Notices
Maintenance & Repair 350Z up keep and diagnosing/fixing problems

Manual Transmission Questions

Search this Thread

Old 01-22-2003 | 03:28 PM
PSekula

Default Manual Transmission Questions

I'm fairly new to the manual transmission. I've owned a brand new black Enthusiast since last Thursday and I absolutely love it.
But I have some technical questions regarding the manual shift.

A friend told me that gearing down when approaching a stoplight (or similar) is ok for the car. Even if it is, I just won't do it. It seems to be bad because of the car suddenly pulling back. Personally, I'd rather my brakes suffer than my drive train. I'd like some further information on this if anyone can supply it.

How fuel economical is a manual compared to an automatic? Please elaborate.

Thanks guys.
Old 01-22-2003 | 03:53 PM
mwaller

I never downshift when slowing at a streetlight. This makes no sense. I usually do use the engine to help me brake, but only in the gear I was cruising in. Once the RPMs drop, I put the car in neutral.
Traditionally, manual transmission cars are more fuel efficient. This is because the transmission forms a direct mechanical linkage between the engine and the wheels. On automatics, power is transmitted through a fluid coupling (an oil bath of sorts), so there are more drive-train related power losses. All modern automatics attempt to improve fuel efficiency by locking up at cruising speeds in the top gear or two. On the highway, there's really no difference in economy. Automatics have come a long way, and are catching up rapidly in terms of efficiency.
Mika
Old 01-22-2003 | 04:24 PM
The Brickyard Rat
350Z-holic
Premier Member

Nothing wrong with down shifting as long as you don't overrev it into the redline area.

I don't downshift at lights/stopsigns but do on the twisty turny roads if I'm in the mood to play junior road racer. LOL.