Dash Instruments Dead - MY350Z.COM - Nissan 350Z and 370Z Forum Discussion

Notices
Maintenance & Repair 350Z up keep and diagnosing/fixing problems

Dash Instruments Dead

Old 04-28-2012, 05:11 PM
  #1  
druz13
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 169
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Dash Instruments Dead

Hey guys, any ideas on this one? 2003, 109k, heres the story..

Last week I had some some problems that ended up being a bad cam shaft sensor. Easy enough, and has been running good ever since. I go to take the car out this afteroon, starts up perfect, but the guages are dead. I have no gas, temp, rpm, mph, the first pod in the cluster of 3 is out, and my turn signal click or light does not work.

I thought it would be a fuse, i checked every single one, by the battery, behind the battery, and nothing was blown. Ive driven around a few miles today and everything seemed to run as usual, but its a little nerve wracking.

Any thoughts or similar situations?
druz13 is offline  
Old 04-28-2012, 06:16 PM
  #2  
AdvanZ33
Senior Super Moderator
MY350Z.COM
iTrader: (105)
 
AdvanZ33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Eastern NC
Posts: 7,285
Thanked 182 Times in 97 Posts
Default

A/C module perhaps. Do your dash/console lights illuminate when you turn on your lights?
AdvanZ33 is offline  
Old 04-28-2012, 07:01 PM
  #3  
ridered929rr
Registered User
iTrader: (8)
 
ridered929rr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Jefferson
Posts: 524
Thanked 23 Times in 15 Posts
Default

Did you check the fuse panel inside the car?
ridered929rr is offline  
Old 04-28-2012, 07:11 PM
  #4  
druz13
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 169
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by AdvanZ33 View Post
A/C module perhaps. Do your dash/console lights illuminate when you turn on your lights?
Just went out and checked. No dash light come on when i turn the lights on. the air conditioning controls did however illuminate.

Originally Posted by ridered929rr View Post
Did you check the fuse panel inside the car?
yes those fuses were checked as well...
druz13 is offline  
Old 04-28-2012, 10:20 PM
  #5  
ThomasLicious
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: California
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I had a similar problem and the fix was changing a blown fuse in the fuse box by the driver's leg
ThomasLicious is offline  
Old 04-29-2012, 09:27 AM
  #6  
druz13
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 169
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I have ruled out the fuses!
druz13 is offline  
Old 04-29-2012, 12:45 PM
  #7  
AdvanZ33
Senior Super Moderator
MY350Z.COM
iTrader: (105)
 
AdvanZ33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Eastern NC
Posts: 7,285
Thanked 182 Times in 97 Posts
Default

Read through this:
https://my350z.com/forum/exterior-an...t-working.html

Happened to me a few years back.
AdvanZ33 is offline  
Old 04-29-2012, 03:10 PM
  #8  
druz13
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 169
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thanks man, ill go disconnect the batter for a little bit and see if anything changes, im doubting that it will though.
druz13 is offline  
Old 04-29-2012, 03:14 PM
  #9  
AdvanZ33
Senior Super Moderator
MY350Z.COM
iTrader: (105)
 
AdvanZ33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Eastern NC
Posts: 7,285
Thanked 182 Times in 97 Posts
Default

Read the whole thing.
AdvanZ33 is offline  
Old 05-03-2012, 07:36 PM
  #10  
druz13
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 169
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Well my instrument cluster just ended up dying. No other way to fix it then getting a new one. thanks for trying to help out Advan
druz13 is offline  
Old 06-25-2012, 01:05 PM
  #11  
350zlee
Registered User
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 252
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Similar situation........my back light of my dashboard and the clusters are not working even I turn on the switch of the headlights. But all the idles are working fine. Anyone knows whats going on
350zlee is offline  
Old 01-05-2019, 07:37 PM
  #12  
Budders
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Delco PHL
Posts: 115
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I had the voltage pod backlight go out recently. I'm guessing i'd have to check connectivity all the way back? Thanks guys! Sorry for old bump xD
Budders is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
jlb
Audio & Video
8
10-15-2017 06:10 AM
Vigman
Maintenance & Repair
17
11-17-2015 05:34 AM
Depravity
Brakes & Suspension
14
10-01-2015 05:49 PM
Daniel_dh
Maintenance & Repair
3
09-07-2015 01:56 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Dash Instruments Dead


Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

© 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: