Motorsports The Z in its Natural Habitat

Going to the Track for first time, need some input

Search this Thread

Old 03-13-2003, 05:52 PM
westpak
SFZCC

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Going to the Track for first time, need some input

I am going to go to Sebring for a weekend of running on the track with Speedventures and it is my first time on the track, I have done a couple of autox and these issues don't concern me that much for autox but being that the track is more exposure for the car I wanted to make sure I do it right. Well I have been going around and around on what to do about tires and brakes:

First thought was to get R Compound tires on my spare 17" wheels and track brake pads.

Second was to run with current tires (Proxes T1S) and street/autox/track pads.

The first one was suggested by someone that races as it would be the best equipment and perform better.
The second was suggested by a couple of people including the school as it would help me learn the limits of the car better and to go with the tires/pads after a few events where I can tell the difference of their impact and I would learn faster. I thought this made sense and I am leaning toward it and purchased some Axxis Ultimate pads and any other improvements will be permanent (swaybars/brake lines/synthetic fluids) so the car will always have them unlike R compound tires and track pads which would be replaced after track events and I would be with a car that is not what I learned with.

Thoughts?
Old 03-13-2003, 10:08 PM
FlyingToaster

I am not sure how familiar you are with your car, but let's assume that since this is your first time on track you do not fully know the limits of it.