Notices
Photography Techniques, Cameras, Lenses, & Equipment

Auto Strobist Thread.

Search this Thread

Old 07-21-2008, 10:34 PM
ctwentytwo

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Auto Strobist Thread.

The "next level" in photography is artificial lighting, and is what separates the Pros from the Joes.

Post your portable Strobe setups and questions here.
Old 07-21-2008, 11:02 PM
ctwentytwo

Even though I had my two strobes (Canon 430ex & 580ex II) for a while now, and been wanting to do strobe shots ever since I first saw the Strobist blog site,... it's only yesterday that I got to do the off-camera strobe shots as I finally got my radio triggers a week ago.

Again, this is my first time using multiple strobes and triggers, and I would love to get some pointers from those with experience shooting cars. I'm thinking about getting a third strobe for some 3-point lighting.

Cameras:
Canon 40D and Olympus E-520.

Strobes:
Canon 430ex ($250)
Canon 580exII ($420)

Radio Triggers:
Elinchrom Universal transmitter and receivers. ($200 for transmitter/receiver and $100 for each additional receiver)

Cables:
Miniphone to Hotshoe ($30) to connect the receiver to the 430ex as there is no PC jack for the strobe... and...
Miniphone to Nikon PC ($20) to connect the other receiver to the 580ex II.

Stands:
Impact light stands (cheap!) ($20 ea.)

Diffusers:
Sto-Fen Omin-Bounce ($10)
Harbour Design diffuser ($10)

Here's the outtakes/practice shots from the 40D/Tokina 11-16:

And the majority was taken with the E-520/Zuiko 14-54, where different flash outputs/locations were tried:

No flash used for this shot... used for comparison.

... more shots of the setup:

IMO, it does wonders for tires, as they are pulled out of the shadow of the wheel well.