Notices
Southern California San Diego, Los Angeles, Orange County, Inland Empire, etc.

Looking to track my Z but have zero experience.

Search this Thread

Old 11-02-2008, 03:40 PM
AML225

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Looking to track my Z but have zero experience.

Hey guys I was wondering what you SoCal guys would recommend? I'm in LA (Marina Del Rey area) and want to track my Z but I have zero track experience.

Should I start by doing a school or are there local tracks where I can have someone experienced ride along with me?

How much does it cost and aside from making sure my tires/brakes/oil/car-in-general is in good shape is there anything I need to do?

Just looking for general advice for a newbie to tracking.

Thanks in advance!
Old 11-02-2008, 03:54 PM
Jarred@Z1
Sponsor
Z1 Motorsports

start at autox then move to tracks is what i would do much more cost effictive and you learn wayyy better car control.
Old 11-02-2008, 03:58 PM
AML225

I don't know if autocross is for me. I appreciate the input but I've always kind of had my passion in tracking. Maybe I could be convinced otherwise? I certainly don't know much at all about autoX.
Old 11-02-2008, 05:52 PM
solrchrgd

Default Speedventures.com

You might want to check out www.speedventures.com. They hold track events at Buttonwillow, Willow Springs, Autoclub(California) Speedway. I went to the Buttonwillow event on a Friday a while back. I think i paid $150-$170. They have different classes from beginner to advanced. I think you get about 4-5 20 minute sessions on the track. You do need a helmet which you can rent. There are instructors that can ride with you to help on the track. It was definitely a bit intimidating at first but once you get to know the track it is great fun.

Bryan
Old 11-02-2008, 07:02 PM
Boneout JZA80
Sponsor
Shine Auto Project

get some good tires, suspension and brakes...

i recommend toyo R1R's or R888
Old 11-02-2008, 07:39 PM
n1cK!
Infiltrator!