Any benefit of installing the 370z cams into the HR? - MY350Z.COM - Nissan 350Z and 370Z Forum Discussion



VQ37HVR Mods and Support related to the 2009+ VHR engine

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-07-2009, 06:01 AM   #1
SuPERSak
Registered User
Thread Starter
iTrader: (9)
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 309
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Any benefit of installing the 370z cams into the HR?

Just wondering if there is a differences in the 07-08 HR cams to the 09 370z ? Or if it would even fit and if it would be any gain if installed on the HR motor?
SuPERSak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2009, 06:08 AM   #2
0jiggy0
Registered User
iTrader: (13)
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 7,420
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

That sounds difficult considering the 370z doesn't have an intake cam. Swapping the heads seems tobe the more logical choice since they share the same block.
0jiggy0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2009, 09:22 AM   #3
Italianjoe1
Registered User
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 1,596
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 0jiggy0 View Post
That sounds difficult considering the 370z doesn't have an intake cam. Swapping the heads seems tobe the more logical choice since they share the same block.
How would you control the intake valve acutation though?
Italianjoe1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2009, 09:25 AM   #4
0jiggy0
Registered User
iTrader: (13)
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 7,420
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

You'd have to find some way to control them, easiest way i can think of is using the 370 ecu. This is all off the top of my head, don't take my word as anything but speculation.
0jiggy0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2009, 12:29 PM   #5
DIGItonium
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
DIGItonium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,836
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

IMO, it's not worth it due to various complexities and requirements of VVEL. Get a hold of the 370Z service manual so you can compare the difference between the two.

You're better off getting custom cams for your engine, stroke, and tune it for N/A potential. Better yet, just get a turbo kit. You'll save lots of time and money as well as gain lots of power.
DIGItonium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2009, 01:51 PM   #6
davidv
Registered User
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 42,793
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

Ridiculous.
davidv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2009, 01:55 PM   #7
Nexx
Registered User
iTrader: (41)
 
Nexx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: DFW
Posts: 13,657
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Default

how about swapping an LS7 head on a VQ? way more power!

someone please post a face palm.
Nexx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2009, 01:19 PM   #8
JR350z08
Registered User
iTrader: (3)
 
JR350z08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Orlando
Posts: 770
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

There is a discussion about this already right before the 370's came out... its easily done by taking the G37 heads and putting them on a HR block. With a costume wiring and costume tune. HR and VVEL block are either the same or smilier to where you can put the 370 and G37 heads on it.... Dont know if this has been proven... could be completely wrong... but it was in one of those long going threads that ended up getting lock cause people love to argue on here...
JR350z08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2009, 10:25 AM   #9
warmmilk
Registered User
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Seattle (area), WA
Posts: 2,922
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nexx View Post
how about swapping an LS7 head on a VQ? way more power!

someone please post a face palm.
you're welcome

warmmilk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2014, 11:50 AM   #10
inwoodsg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: new york
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

finally found the answer I was looking for. want to keep the car "stock" so I figured I can do some Nissan upgrades by swapping 370 parts into my 3.5 hr motor
inwoodsg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2014, 12:01 PM   #11
travlee
Master
iTrader: (8)
 
travlee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 32,881
Thanked 4,755 Times in 3,202 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by inwoodsg View Post
finally found the answer I was looking for. want to keep the car "stock" so I figured I can do some Nissan upgrades by swapping 370 parts into my 3.5 hr motor
holy 5 year dead thread revival
travlee is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2014, 06:17 AM   #12
inwoodsg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: new york
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by travlee View Post
holy 5 year dead thread revival
Lol yes been doing some searching before molesting my stock hr
inwoodsg is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
JMS Racing Twin Turbo VQ35HR MM'08_350Z VQ35HR 224 08-10-2017 12:55 PM
My FI friends, im at a loss of whats causing my issues. i turn to you. Colombo Forced Induction 29 10-10-2015 02:31 PM
Oil change with aftermarket oil cooler XM 1 Engine & Drivetrain 11 10-01-2015 10:44 PM


Tags
350z, 370z, cams, camshaft, camshafts, clutch, exhaust, g37s, hr, install, installing, nismo, spacer, swap, vq

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:00 AM.


Copyright 2002 - 2017, MY350Z.COM All Rights Reserved.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: